The Big Reveal: One room Challenge

May 7, 2015 at 3:26 AM 28 comments

In highschool, I choregraphed a dance to “Standing Outside the Fire” by Garth Brooks with a friend.  Those who know my dancing skills are laughing hard right now, especially since I put myself and “choregraphed” into a sentence together.  But, I only tell you this to show off that I’ve got quite the background in country.  Girl can get down to some Garth.

Today is the final reveal to show that I’ve gone country, dog gonnit.  To keep you up to speed, a lovely client, asked that I decorate a guest bedroom at her second home in the country.  She willingly went along with Linda of Calling It Home’s six week challenge to let me put the entire room together start to finish in just six weeks.

Here it was before…

IMG_4162

And here it is today…

IMG_9572

IMG_9477

IMG_9498

IMG_9501

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

IMG_9479

IMG_9483

IMG_9342

IMG_9452 (1)

IMG_5713

IMG_5715

IMG_9348

IMG_8379

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

The bedroom sits on the ground floor of their country house and it overlooks the garden so I have dubbed it “the garden room.”  I know, so very creative.  But, if you say it in a snobby voice, it sounds very sophisticated. We went with a mixture of high and low/antique and new to pull the look together.  The bedspread was the starting point for the entire design and it came from Ikea of all places.  The bed frame is also Ikea but no longer in production – it was a major Craigslist score.  Bench at the end of the bed is Serena and Lily.  The rug is Bunnie Williams for Dash and Albert. The lamps I got at a local shop and the shades I recovered in Peter Dunham fabric.  The big roller I had custom made with green ticking stripe and a piping in the matching Peter Dunham fabric.  My favorite part is the beautiful photograph by Julia Lynn above the bed.  The black side table on the right hand side, while absolutely beautiful belongs somewhere else in the home and sits there for the photoshoot while I await the Chairish side table to come.  It was the first thing ordered – a gorgeous dark wood antique spindle table and I can’t wait for it to eventually arrive. The dresser on the side of the room was already there and it’s gorgeous.  The antique faux bamboo chair is also my clients (I wish I could take credit for finding it) and doesn’t reside there as there wouldn’t be any need for a bench and chair at the foot of the bed but I thought it looked pretty for the pics.  There also was a debate between white and blue pillows for the bed.  In the end, we went white for the softness it brings but I included one pic of the blue for you to see.

There ya have it.  I’ve got to tell you that the One Room Challenges, this one, and the poolhouse I did last time (you can see the reveal here), take a ton of work to pull together so quickly but as Garth Brooks says, “you’ve got to be tough when consumed by desire. Because it’s not enough just to stand outside the fire”

Check out the other participants beautiful finished rooms here.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Shopping Buddies Lotus Bleu San Francisco

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Camila  |  May 7, 2015 at 5:42 AM

    Beautiful! I totally agree with you! Tackling a room in 6 weeks is exhausting, but I’m happy it’s done.

    Reply
  • 2. whalingcitycottage  |  May 7, 2015 at 5:55 AM

    Kate, this is adorable! And I love how the bench bohos it up a bit. Great job!

    Reply
  • 3. Susie @ Maddie G Designs  |  May 7, 2015 at 6:05 AM

    What a perfect space! Your client must be thrilled. Love those lamp shades and the stool, the bedding…..all of it. Great job!

    Reply
  • 4. Fran  |  May 7, 2015 at 7:38 AM

    It’s perfect! Seriously! I love this room and I have to say the artwork completely ‘finishes’ the room. Wow! Love, love this! Beautiful job!

    Reply
  • 5. Beatrice  |  May 7, 2015 at 7:38 AM

    I just LOVE that room. I can’t believe that you pulled it all together in just six weeks!. I would keep the chair in the room because once a guest is staying there the bench will get used for clothes and bags (there doesn’t appear to be a closet) and the chair will give the guest a place to sit.
    Great job

    Reply
  • 6. Kristina  |  May 7, 2015 at 8:36 AM

    Such a transformation!! Beautiful!!

    Reply
  • 7. Kathy  |  May 7, 2015 at 8:54 AM

    WOW Kate it really came together. It is so inviting, so lovely and so country. Congrats Kaky

    Reply
  • 8. Mary Karen  |  May 7, 2015 at 9:37 AM

    What a glorious transformation! Makes me want to fling open the windows to the garden and luxuriate on the bed all day with a good book. Bravo!

    Reply
  • 9. Anna  |  May 7, 2015 at 10:15 AM

    It looks amazing! What a great transformation, definitely worth all the long hours.

    Reply
  • 10. Megan  |  May 7, 2015 at 11:04 AM

    gorgeous and so inviting! nice work!!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Traci Hutton  |  May 7, 2015 at 12:17 PM

    So fresh and chic!! Amazing transformation…well done!!

    Reply
  • 12. lsdevito  |  May 7, 2015 at 5:03 PM

    love it, super cute and fresh!

    Reply
  • 13. Marty@A Stroll Thru Life  |  May 7, 2015 at 6:52 PM

    This is so beautiful and so chic. What a gorgeous room. I love the colors, fabrics and that wonderful art above the bed.

    Reply
  • 14. Glynnis Hayward  |  May 7, 2015 at 10:50 PM

    It looks fantastic, Kate. Lucky client.

    Reply
  • 15. Erin  |  May 7, 2015 at 11:32 PM

    Beautiful Kate! Lucky client and guests. Absolutely love it!
    I can picture you dancing in those cowboy boots right now and it makes me so happy. The best! Love you.

    Reply
  • 16. deborah moore manning  |  May 8, 2015 at 5:02 AM

    Bravo! I adore this room/transformation. Would like to see the window coverings, shade or drapes? So refreshing and inviting, may I spend the night there?!!

    Reply
  • 17. Anna  |  May 8, 2015 at 7:38 AM

    Beautiful, so calm and relaxing:)

    Reply
  • 18. Sam @ Away She Went  |  May 8, 2015 at 11:45 AM

    The room looks great! I love the bench at the foot of the bed and the antique dresser. Everything is just so pretty!

    Reply
  • 19. Erin @ the-organized-life  |  May 8, 2015 at 12:04 PM

    Great job! I love that navy nightstand!

    Reply
  • 20. Camille  |  May 8, 2015 at 12:10 PM

    Just lovely!!! The bed is so gorgeous and my absolute favorite are the lampshades in the Peter Dunham. Just so perfect for this beautiful harden room. You’ve done it again.

    Reply
  • 21. cassie @ primitive & proper  |  May 9, 2015 at 5:50 AM

    stunning space! i LOVE it!

    Reply
  • 22. Linda @ Calling it Home  |  May 10, 2015 at 8:22 PM

    Um, I’m a huge Garth fan. I have missed him. I could go on,but that would be weird. I love this beautiful room. Yes, the art is the show-stopper. Great job, and lovely styling.

    Reply
  • 23. Anne {Almost Home}  |  May 10, 2015 at 9:39 PM

    Beautiful job, Kate!!! Love how you pulled it all together. All those pretty pinks, and the rustic touches that keep it feeling perfectly country chic…so good. And I just love that you used an Ikea duvet at your starting point!!!

    Reply
  • 24. Anne {Almost Home}  |  May 10, 2015 at 9:40 PM

    ps. thank you for your kind words about my new coffee table!! I’m so honored to know you love it as much as I do! 🙂

    Reply
  • 25. lauraingallsgunn  |  May 11, 2015 at 7:34 AM

    What an amazing transformation! A true job well done. I adore the color palette you selected. It feels fresh and fun. The six weeks went by so fast. I completed our entry, living and dining areas in a new to us 30 year old house. So, cheers to us! Have a wonderful week.

    Reply
  • 26. Delia @songthatdoesntend  |  May 11, 2015 at 9:46 AM

    Such a lovely put together room. I LOVE that bench…the detailing is amazing!

    Reply
  • 27. sherry hart  |  May 11, 2015 at 1:09 PM

    Incredibly pretty bedroom! I love…love how organic it feels…and what a score on finding the Ikea bed! Your styling is perfect:)

    Reply
  • 28. Jana  |  May 11, 2015 at 4:45 PM

    Wow everything looks gorgeous, I’m particularly obsessed with the duvet & striped bolster – fabulous design Kate!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors\' designed gift...

Join 363 other subscribers