One Room Challenge: The Big Reveal

November 6, 2014 at 5:22 AM 25 comments

Well here it is, the big reveal day.  I’m nervous to show everyone.  I hope you like it!!  And thank you for all your support throughout this process. The comments have lifted me up and kept me going.  I absolutely love hearing from you so thank you from the bottom of my heart.

As a refresher, here is my mom’s pool house before…

photo-410

 

And without further adieu, here are the afters…

pool house shot

IMG_4083

IMG_4084

IMG_4001

IMG_3938

As a reminder, the fireplace area before…

photo 3-12

My all time favorite sofa…

IMG_4131

 

IMG_3974

IMG_3960

And the club chairs got all dressed up in everyone’s favorite Quadrille Zig Zag with some custom pom pom pillows…

IMG_4046

IMG_3919

 

The pillows are reversable – the opposite side is a coral terricloth fabric (playing on the whole pool thing)…

IMG_3994

 

IMG_3993

Since the coffee table didn’t make it in time, we spray painted the existing one.  If the coffee table never makes it, I think this one will do just fine.

IMG_4083

For the dining room area, we got new dining room chairs, which I love.  We also set the table using mom’s linens (she’s had that Otomi runner for about 15 years – what a little trend setter she is).

IMG_4043

 

IMG_4005

 

Throughout this whole process, there are so many that I have to thank.  First of all, Linda of Calling It Home for not only inventing the One Room Challenge but also opening it up to all of us blogger.  It was really fun to participate instead of always reading along.  A huge thank you to my mom for trusting me and for having fun with the process.  Putting a room together that I love and am proud of was hugely rewarding.  However, I have to say, the biggest reward was an excuse to come hang out with my mom a couple of times a week for six weeks.  The girls and I absolutely loved our quality Kaky time.

I also have to thank my two personal assistants.  Without them, I wouldn’t have the coffee table books rearranged as soon as I put them on the table.  Books are for reading, not for styling, if you ask assistant A:

IMG_4107

I also would not have been able to test out Christopher Farr Cloth’s stain resistance without assistant B’s gracious spit up.

grace pool

Assistant A decided to take a break from rearranging the styling pieces in order to catch up on her Billiards reading.  As you do…

IMG_4136

What’s that you say?  Assistant A matches the sofa.  My oh my – I had no idea.  Crazy.

Luckily for my assistants, they are pretty dang cute so I’ll keep working with them.

There you have it, the one room challenge accepted and completed.  I hope you enjoyed the tour as much as I loved working on it.  Thanks for looking!  And please do check out all the other extremely talented participants here.  Hope to see you back here at the next challenge.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

One Room Challenge Week Five Thick as Thieves

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. deborah moore manning  |  November 6, 2014 at 6:48 AM

    Challenge accepted, completed and MASTERED! The space is Wonderful, alive, happy and WITH your Assistants, absolutely DIVINE! Without your Gals it’s just PDG(Pretty Darn Great!) What a Transformation, Kate! Your vision and choices and execution are Winners! I’d love to see the Kitchen side of the dining area, I’m guessing all white cabinetery, counters?? What a Reveal. . . made my day. xd

    Reply
  • 2. Kristina  |  November 6, 2014 at 7:51 AM

    Beautiful! Love it!!

    Reply
  • 3. celine@aquahaus  |  November 6, 2014 at 8:11 AM

    Now THAT is a pool house. The paint job is incredible, but the details! Your fabric choices are excellent (love the terry cloth nod), and I love the chairs/ otomi…I really like the wicker coffee table too! Not sure it needs to be changed. Hope the foosball table stays..and would love to continue to see the other side of the pool house when it’s done (kitchen, dining, etc.) Love it all. You gots #skillzzz And in true fan girl stalker style, I need to tell you that Bumble Play Café is one of my all time fave spaces. xo

    Reply
  • 4. Erin | Holtwood Hipster  |  November 6, 2014 at 9:11 AM

    This room is everything a pool house to me should be – bright, colorful, easy going and full of pretty patterns. I love, love, love the upholstery choices – the couch is ridiculously good, but what you did with the chairs and pom pillows is fab. The contrasting blue trim on the back windows to me makes all the difference and is such a great play off the green in all the textiles. My favorite part is that you incorporated things your mom already had like the otomi runner. That’s a table for gathering right there. Congrats on a beautiful outcome after these 6 long weeks. Your two assistants are darling by the way…

    Reply
  • 5. Jana Bek  |  November 6, 2014 at 9:48 AM

    Absolutely fabulous Kate! I’m obsessed with your textile choices! Such a sophisticated & cozy space. Love everything, fantastic design! xx jana

    Reply
  • 6. Erin C  |  November 6, 2014 at 9:51 AM

    Wow!! Every detail is so beautiful. I’m loving the pop of tangerine orange, it’s just so energizing. Perfection!

    Reply
  • 7. lauren  |  November 6, 2014 at 9:55 AM

    Wow, I love it! I love the couch and all the colors. And the girls look ridiculously cute, as usual.

    Reply
  • 8. Brittany  |  November 6, 2014 at 10:26 AM

    Love, love, LOVE! Amazing job, as always, Kate!! For what it’s worth, I also think you should keep your assistants. 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Susan Gatto  |  November 6, 2014 at 12:51 PM

    Love it! I especially love your assistants. Susan

    ________________________________

    Reply
  • 10. Vanessa@Decor Happy  |  November 6, 2014 at 1:24 PM

    What a fresh and inviting transformation. Absolutely love your fabric choices. Your Mom must be so happy and how darling are your girls.

    Reply
  • 11. Kim@ The Green Room Interiors  |  November 6, 2014 at 2:33 PM

    It’s so nice to see a room with such a happy color palette – and isn’t happy what you want in a pool house? I adore the fabric on the sofa and the rattan chairs. The blue trim is the icing on the cake. Love it all!!!

    Reply
  • 12. Anne {Almost Home}  |  November 6, 2014 at 4:13 PM

    It looks awesome! Your mom must be one happy lady! I love how you mixed pinks and oranges with the greens and blues. Well done! 🙂

    Reply
  • 13. mrs. V | Chez V  |  November 6, 2014 at 8:57 PM

    Kate, you need to tell your Mom that she’s fixing to have a visitor. As a Greek, I’m partial to bearing gifts in the form of praise, wine, and food – all so that I can hang in that divine pool house and commune at that Otomi-clad table. The Christophar Farr/Quadrille scenario is making me week in the knees. Poms and adorable assistants for the win!

    Reply
  • 14. Carrie Corson - Curate & Co.  |  November 6, 2014 at 9:26 PM

    Love love love! It turned out great! I adore your fabric choices. Great job!

    Reply
  • 15. lauraingallsgunn  |  November 7, 2014 at 9:51 AM

    Wow~ An absolutely stunning space! I love the couch and rattan chairs. As a fellow 6 week participant the six weeks was indeed a challenge and you rose up. Well done!

    Reply
  • 16. Megan Bachmann - Otomi Home  |  November 7, 2014 at 10:52 AM

    Beautiful work!!! What a lovely space and I love the color palette. Nice job!! And those assistants look so helpful, it must have been a piece of cake 😉

    Reply
  • 17. M. K. Euler  |  November 7, 2014 at 10:52 AM

    You are a Wizard! Your colors (who would have thought to incorporate hot coral into the rest of the palette?), patterns, textures…it’s all magical and just gorgeous. Well done you!

    Reply
  • 18. Sam @ Away She Went  |  November 8, 2014 at 9:30 PM

    It looks great! The fabric choices are perfect for a pool house! Great work!

    Reply
  • 19. sherry hart  |  November 9, 2014 at 9:29 AM

    Dang girl…..this room rocks! Love all the fabric and the small pops of coral….your Mom must be over the moon. Fantastic job Kate!

    Reply
  • 20. Shelia/House of Highlands  |  November 9, 2014 at 4:54 PM

    That fabric is amazing…and the pom-poms are perfect with the terry cloth! And those dining room chairs are perfection! You did a great job with your mom’s pool house! Bravo!
    Shelia

    Reply
  • 21. Linda @ Calling it Home  |  November 10, 2014 at 6:02 AM

    This is so pretty. I think my takeaway message is that I want to be a mom with a pool house so my future grandchildren will come and hang out there. I would just love a pool house! Great job and I love all of your color choices.

    Reply
  • 22. tara // sproutzdesign  |  November 10, 2014 at 8:26 AM

    WOW! what an amazing space. so much eye candy, especially on a dreary fall day in seattle…wish i was by the pool. job well done!!

    Reply
  • 23. Cameron LaFont  |  November 10, 2014 at 11:55 PM

    What a wonderful, welcoming room you have created. Your mom is one lucky lady and you’re one luck daughter to have such a mom. This room will always trigger fond memories of your 6 weeks together with your 2 assistants both for you and your mom. You’re very talented – keep up the great work.

    Reply
  • 24. stephanie kraus  |  November 11, 2014 at 8:05 PM

    okay I am dying over that chair with the quadrille fabric and the sofa your mom already had as well as that runner?? Style and design runs in your family. you nailed this room as always! And your assistants… way too cute… can’t stand it! xo

    Reply
  • […] A bench cushion is currently being made in this fabulous Christopher Farr fabric that I had left over from my first One Room Challenge. […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors\' designed gift...

Join 363 other subscribers