One Room Challenge Week Five

October 30, 2014 at 5:45 AM 15 comments

Welcome to week five of the One Room Challenge.  We are getting there.  As a refresher, I’m working on my mom’s pool house.

There was good news and bad news happening this week.  One of the bad news things is that I just wrote the entire week five post and then it mysteriously deleted.  Damn you, technology.  So I’m thinking this post will be short.

Other bad news, the coffee table won’t be arriving in time.  It was scheduled to arrive Oct. 1st and then the date has continuously been pushed back to where I’m questioning if the table will ever come.  You’ll just have to imagine this beautiful table on the big reveal.

32776270_014_m2

Ugh, the experience is making me bitter with Anthropologie.  But, not bitter enough to stop shopping there.  Not even for one milisecond.  Damn you, Anthropologie.

Also, my mom has not made any final decisions on the art.  She wants to see the entire space put together and live with it for a bit before pulling the trigger on an art piece.

Onto the good news, I found a very pretty mirror at Home Goods that will be the place filler until the art decided.

mirror

As you can see in the mirror’s reflection, the painting is done except for touch ups and it looks great.  Mom really wanted a warmer white, I had originally suggested Decorators White which is a true white.  We went with Swiss Coffee which has a bit of warmth to it and that was the right choice since this is a big space with a lot of white.  It was hard to photograph correctly and so it comes looking less white then it really is in person.  I love the two blues on the doors and trims.

photo 2-3

photo 1-4

 

In other good news, the upholstery pieces are in and they are awesome; just awesome.  I walked into my upholstery shop and my jaw dropped to the ground.  I see my upholsterer pretty much weekly when I’m working full time and I don’t think he’s ever seen me so taken aback by the beauty of his work.

I went back and forth on wether or not to show you my favorite piece of to save it for week six.  But, I’ve got to give you a nugget to bring you back next week.  Please come back cause you’ll get to see more of this beauty…

sofa

A little back story here. I’ve been massively obsessed with Christopher Farr Cloth Carnival ever since I started blogging in 2009.  Here’s some proof with a very early post.  I have presented it to clients who have gone with other schemes instead.  I have priced it out with my own home but my pockets aren’t deep enough yet.  And I have waved the little sample in front of my mom’s face for years now slowly hypnotizing her until one day she took the bait and agreed to have her sofa reupholstered in Carnival.  Mom, I love you more then words can say, one reason being for your fabulous taste in fabrics.

When I sent my mom the above photo from the upholstery shop, her response in all caps was, “WOW!  THAT IS FUN AND WILD  I CAN’T WAIT TO SEE IT”  All caps equals major mom approval.  Happy client, happy decorator.  I really can’t wait to show you the reveal next week, until then please go read all the massive talent at the link up party, here.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Taking a Chance One Room Challenge: The Big Reveal

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beatrice  |  October 30, 2014 at 6:16 AM

    I just love that color of blue that you have chosen and the settee is going to look terrific in that room. My personal opinion is that you should paint the grate cover white as well. It seems like the black scroll work will fight with the wonderful mirror above. I’d probably get rid of the screen as well. Because you seldom have a fire there I would then fill the opening with dried hydrangeas. But that’s just me; I always put something in the black hole of my fire place during the warm months.
    Can’t wait to see the finished product!

    Reply
  • 2. deborah moore manning  |  October 30, 2014 at 6:21 AM

    HOMERUN!! The sofa is stunning! The paint is perfect and I canNOT wait to see it all put together! Kate, I’ve not met your Mom yet, but I adore her. . . and she is soo lucky to have a Designer Daughter. I too, love fabric and collect it and savour it and dream about it; two hearts alike! Onward to next week and the REVEAL!

    Reply
  • 3. mrs. V | Chez V  |  October 30, 2014 at 6:45 AM

    Holy sweet Carnival of awesome. Drop dead gorgeous. Your mother has exquisite taste as do you! Cannot wait to see everything! Jaw dropping is right.

    Reply
  • 4. celine @aquahaus  |  October 30, 2014 at 6:55 AM

    Ummm wow. The paint looks incredible! And the sofa? I’m tearing up with joy. It’s so gorgeous. I cannot wait to see this next week. Xo

    Reply
  • 5. Fran  |  October 30, 2014 at 7:05 AM

    I wish I was your mom right now!! Wow!! This is going to be gorgeous!! I love everything – the white, blue trim and the Christopher Farr fabric!! My ‘oh my!!! Beautiful work!!

    Reply
  • 6. Fran  |  October 30, 2014 at 7:06 AM

    Oh, and do you mind sharing the trim paint color?? It is lovely!!!

    Reply
  • 7. kate@willowinteriors  |  October 30, 2014 at 8:13 AM

    Ugh, Anthro…just like Apple…I want to hate them every time something breaks and a genius treats me like 2 yr old…but i keep buying their product! (Insert angry face!!!) 🙂 Ok, but onto the pool house! Beautiful! Love the warm white and the coffee table will look smashing whenever the hell it decides to arrive! That mirror is amazing and I might start hunting my homegoods for my own copy. But the fabric on that couch is going to steal the show!!!!! Good luck in our final week!!!

    Reply
  • 8. Kirsten  |  October 30, 2014 at 10:08 AM

    Amazing!!!!!! I’m living through your mom as I too dream of the CF fabric on something in my house! Can’t wait for the reveal

    Reply
  • 9. livvintage  |  October 30, 2014 at 10:42 AM

    Bummer on the table, but it will be awesome in that space. LOVE, LOVE the sofa !! Can’t wait for week 6

    Reply
  • 10. sherry hart  |  October 31, 2014 at 5:20 AM

    Be still my heart….I also LOVE that fabric in a huge way! I love you Mom also for allowing you to use it! Damn Anthro! I put a curse on them for you:)

    Reply
  • 11. christinedovey  |  October 31, 2014 at 8:06 PM

    I’m obsessed with this room – have been from the beginning and this week’s post just confirmed my excitement was soooooo valid. That sofa is EVERYTHING! I too have been obsessed with that fabric forever and it’s perfect x a million. I also love love the white walls with blue doors- it’s all amazing. SO excited to check back next week!

    Reply
  • 12. Carrie Corson - Curate & Co.  |  November 1, 2014 at 5:34 AM

    I absolutely die for that fabric!!! The indigo mirror is great too. Can’t wait to see the reveal! Visiting from the ORC!

    Reply
  • 13. sdowd39  |  November 1, 2014 at 10:39 PM

    I love, love that sofa, I will be back for sure to see the big reveal! Now, I am obsessing over the fabric! 🙂
    Shelia @ House of Highlands

    Reply
  • 14. Kim@ The Green Room Interiors  |  November 2, 2014 at 7:50 PM

    Yes to that amazing fabric on that sofa! It’s so nice to see someone use a bold print on a sofa and create such a colorful room. Excited to see the space next week!!

    Reply
  • 15. Jessica @ Dear Emmeline  |  November 3, 2014 at 7:00 AM

    Gorgeous room! I completely understand the backorder issue!! We ordered lights for our kitchen and after being told 3x that the new ship date had been moved back an entire month I finally just cancelled the order. Ugh. If something isn’t available they should just say so!! Hopefully, your table will come in soon. It’s stunning!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 359 other followers


