Thick as Thieves

November 14, 2014 at 5:00 AM 10 comments

wedding e

For 48 hours, Graham, my extended family and I were whisked away to the land of enchantment.  For a fleeting moment, I was free.  Free of spit up, tantrums, pointing out colors, changing diapers, keeping a food schedule and finding pacifies in the sketchiest depths of our home.

photo 3 (13)

We let loose.  Let the joy of two heartfelt, positive, energetic people, completely lost in love, take over.  It was, and is, a contagious love my cousin and his bride exude.

photo 3 (14)

I am part of a tribe that is almost always in rare form.  We travel the world to support each other.  We let the good times roll with hoot and hollers and you better believe we can get down to the rhythm of a mariachi band.

photo 1 (24)

While it’s easy to be there in the thick, we’re there in the thin, sometimes with a misguided joke or unsolicited advice.  However, despite any flubs, we all try our hardest because we’re family.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

As I return to the ever reliable alarm clock of a hungry crying baby and a protesting toddler, I think to myself may I instill in my girls what was instilled in me: we are thick as thieves in this family and you love with reckless abandon.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

One Room Challenge: The Big Reveal What Lies Beneath…

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. deborah moore manning  |  November 14, 2014 at 5:38 AM

    Wonderful post, Kate! Lucky Imwalle’s to have so much fun and love and comeraderie. . . Family first! I am quite sure Josie and Grace will continue the Tradition. xd

    Reply
  • 2. Julia  |  November 14, 2014 at 8:29 AM

    So much fun!! Wish we could have stayed all week:) xoxo

    Reply
  • 3. katecollinsinteriors  |  November 14, 2014 at 10:19 AM

    It was wonderful. I am so so so glad EVERYONE took the time to go to Las Cruces. What a birthday present.

    Reply
  • 4. Julie young  |  November 14, 2014 at 11:02 AM

    Wonderful family bonding with good times. Yaaaa

    Reply
  • 5. Bridget  |  November 14, 2014 at 12:00 PM

    Yeah, we are awesome, aren’t we? What an easy group of people to love.

    Reply
  • 6. Fran  |  November 14, 2014 at 2:23 PM

    Looks like you had so much fun!

    Reply
  • 7. Glynnis Hayward  |  November 14, 2014 at 4:49 PM

    Well I loved having Josie and Grace while you were away, but was glad to see you both home again!

    Reply
  • 8. Allie  |  November 14, 2014 at 5:20 PM

    Your post made me tear up. Too much fun #nooffensegoddaughter

    Reply
  • 9. Anne {Almost Home}  |  November 14, 2014 at 8:36 PM

    How amazing is that?! And what a tremendous blessing to be able to write those words about your family! Y’all look like such a fun bunch 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. Miles  |  November 15, 2014 at 3:21 PM

    Amen sister!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 358 other followers


