One Room Challenge – Handyman Graham Style

April 14, 2016 at 4:15 AM 14 comments

For those of you new to my blog, welcome!  I’m happy to have you here!  I’d also like to introduce you to my husband, Handyman Graham; I will now post a photo of to thoroughly embarrass him.

7624_1227499616410_1496664461_30602817_7204296_n

While he crunches numbers by day, he cuts wood with his table saw by night.

For some background, about a year ago, he found out about the Anna White website and he decided to all of sudden build a table with zero woodworking experience.  As a loving wife, I had little confidence in the whole endeavor.  I thought he was insane for taking it on. He proved me wrong and he built this lovely outdoor table…

photo-4-4.jpg

You can read the full post on this table, here.

So for our outdoor space that I’m working on, I got rid of the round table and chairs

img_7382 (1)

and I put Handyman Graham to work.  Thereby, fulfilling the ancient saying, “If you prove your woodworking skills your wife will take advantage.”  He built this outdoor sofa off of Anna White’s website…

img_4530

For full disclosure, we are not an HGTV show.  He did not build this overnight for $80 total.  Nope.  It took him many weekends and he got it done before this challenge began.  The price also still adds up with the cost of materials.

But, for this week, let me introduce you to our new bench in the space.  Aint she a beaut?! I love the x base back.

IMG_2002

(Sorry for the horrible photos)

A bench cushion is currently being made in this fabulous Christopher Farr fabric that I had left over from my first One Room Challenge.

il_fullxfull.701711309_6iaf

The bench will be paired with two of these faux bamboo barrel chairs.  My upholsterer already finished up the cushions for them and I picked them up and they are beautiful!  The chairs need another coat of spray paint but we’re getting there.

IMG_1946

And that’s where we’re at so far.  Thanks for stopping by and I hope to see you next week.

Please check out the other participants here.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

One Room Challenge: Outdoor Spruce Up ORC: Tile It Up!

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. deborah moore manning  |  April 14, 2016 at 6:22 AM

    I love that you are honest about the Cost and Time Spent w/ Graham’s Projects! HGTV(you gotta love’em) makes it all SEEM so easy and inexpensive and and and. The outcomes are Delicious!! His woodworking and your Fabric magic will be chic and fresh and Gorgeous; can’t wait to see the Reveal!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Stephanie M Rech  |  April 14, 2016 at 7:35 AM

    STOPIT!!!! I love it! And I love your blog – such fun to read!!! I call my husband Superhubs because he, too, makes things and cuts things and assembles things and tiles things and …. Gosh. Aren’t we lucky to have married free labor to execute our visions?! 🙂 Cheers! So fun to follow you!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Erin  |  April 14, 2016 at 7:46 AM

    Holy. Crap. That’s quite the bench. Mad skills!

    Reply
  • 4. Tiffany  |  April 14, 2016 at 8:17 AM

    That bench is ridiculously good. And that fabric…incredible!

    Reply
  • 5. Lauren  |  April 14, 2016 at 9:13 AM

    Go Graham! Love the bench.

    Reply
  • 6. Fran  |  April 14, 2016 at 11:20 AM

    Unbelievable!! Everything you touch I love! Seriously! Where, oh, where did you get those bamboo barrel chairs??

    Reply
  • 7. Kirsten  |  April 14, 2016 at 11:32 AM

    Love that! Snaps to Graham. They look perfect! Do you recall the name of the table? I really want to follow on your footsteps and make my husband attempt this 😉
    Looking forward to the reveal

    Reply
  • 8. Jana  |  April 14, 2016 at 12:53 PM

    Wow your hubby is talented, what a stunning bench! Love the chairs too, can’t wait to see more!

    Reply
  • 9. Holly - hcb interiors  |  April 14, 2016 at 1:15 PM

    Wow, he did a fantastic job! And I adore your chairs and fabric choice! Your space is going to look so good

    Reply
  • 10. celine @aquahaus  |  April 14, 2016 at 6:30 PM

    Graham..hottie alert. and he also builds!! You got a keeper! Love the bench so much, and all the cushions. YES!! Where are the emoji’s when you need them. Love it all Kate.

    Reply
  • 11. lauraingallsgunn  |  April 14, 2016 at 8:34 PM

    Kate I adore the direction that your room is headed towards! You did SO much better than I did in my room this week.

    I would love for you to share this post at Thoughts of Home on Thursday. I think our readers would really enjoy it!

    Good luck in the upcoming week!

    Reply
  • 12. mollie's mom  |  April 15, 2016 at 6:29 PM

    That white bench is fabulous and the fabric for the cushion is going to be awesome. Can’t wait to see more!!

    Reply
  • 13. Ashley  |  April 21, 2016 at 7:33 AM

    It’s incredible! Are you waterproofing/weatherproofing the cushions? Is that something you even have to think about in sunny California? 🙂

    Reply
    • 14. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 21, 2016 at 7:56 AM

      Thank you!! The Christopher Farr Cloth is an Indoor/Outdoor fabric. Although, I have been moving it in and out every night which is a pain.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


