One Room Challenge: Week Four

October 23, 2014 at 5:11 AM 8 comments

Delivery!  It’s kind of the best word ever, isn’t it?  Nothing like a good mail day.  We’ve got loot to show.

As a reminder, I’m redoing  my mom’s pool house.  You can read about the first three weeks here, here and here.

Before I get to the delivery, let me back up.

You see those green wicker chairs that were in my mom’s pool house.

photo-410

They are great comfortable wicker chairs and so we thought about repainting them white and reupholstering them.

However, neither my mom nor I wanted to go through the agony of repainting them.  I’m a lousy DIY girl at my finest and I’m not at my finest with a baby and toddler following after me currently.

So, when you don’t DIY, you buy.  Am I right?  Enter a pair of these fab Serena and Lily chairs for replacement.

traditional-armchairs

They are super cute and actually way more comfy then I thought they would be.  Win, win.

Where did the old chairs go?  Oh just to my own back yard.  Ulterior motives much?  Thanks mom.

Speaking of delivery, there was another batch of beautiful chairs that came through the mail.

51cKQqCGkdL._SY300_

Actually, they arrived about a month ago in preparation for the one room challenge.  You see, they  sell out FAST!  They are sold out again.  I ordered as soon as they were back in stock from Overstock and they went back out of stock in like two days.  I kid you not.  But they are beautiful and I’m very impressed with the quality and price…

photo 1-3

The final delivery…this jute rug from Ballard Designs

photo 1 (14)

As a refresher, here is what it replaced…

photo 2 (10)

Because nothing spells pool house like a persian rug that you plucked from your husband’s office in the early 1990’s.

Jute is bringing on the California summer time vibe, such an improvement!

The paint is still underway.  The doors are painted and the trim is done but the doors need to be hung before they whitewash the walls and ceiling.

photo-9

Come back next week when, hopefully the painting will be all done and we can move the furniture into place.  Fingers crossed.  This is all so crazy fast.  Please check out all the other great participants, here.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chambray for All My Motivation

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kate@willowinteriors  |  October 23, 2014 at 7:34 AM

    Oh my gosh. I love all these pretty neutral bases you are starting with! And can’t wait to see them layered with your colorful fabrics! Nice job scoring the cast aside chairs! 😉

    Reply
  • 2. christinedovey  |  October 23, 2014 at 10:55 AM

    Ha…so with you…when you’re not into DIY, you buy;))) LOVE the chairs – all of them are stunning. I can’t wait to see this room!!!!

    Reply
  • 3. mrs. V | Chez V  |  October 23, 2014 at 11:01 AM

    Great scores around the board. Including the wicker that *somehow* ended up in your back yard. Cannot wait to see it all together!

    Reply
  • 4. sherry hart  |  October 23, 2014 at 4:14 PM

    Win…win! You get chairs and Mom get’s chairs:) See ya next week to catch up….love them by the way.

    Reply
  • 5. celine @aquahaus  |  October 23, 2014 at 6:49 PM

    Hell yes!! This is awesome. Excellent chair selection.

    Reply
  • 6. Camille  |  October 23, 2014 at 11:20 PM

    In my dreams, I would have those exact Serena and Lily chairs! The are BEAUTIFUL! (I love their bench too!)
    And how cool about the Overstock chairs!
    Lookin’ good, Lady!

    Reply
  • 7. Karena Albert  |  October 27, 2014 at 7:23 AM

    Love what you are creating here Kate a fabulous new look fore your sun room!
    Those Overstock chairs are amazing!

    xoxo,
    Karena
    The Arts by Karena

    Reply
  • 8. Beth of design POST interiors  |  October 27, 2014 at 6:23 PM

    Love all your picks and those chairs beat a DIY by about 1,000%! And good call on the jute rug!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors\' designed gift...

Join 363 other subscribers