One Room Challenge: Week Two

October 9, 2014 at 4:10 AM 16 comments

ORC-LP-Blue-250x183

Welcome to ORC, week 2!  As a refresher, I’m redoing my mom’s pool house, you can read about it here.  Everything is coming together and I’m really excited!  This has been a dream of mine because we are using some of my favorite fabrics.  And since I’m doing this for my mom, I get to visit all the time.  So, it’s pretty much a gift to myself.

We have the plan finalized.  I’m not going to give it all away because what fun would that be?  But, here is the fabric plan I presented…

photo-413

Tweaks have been made to what I presented.  The pink is a no go.  Bummer!  My mom is not a pink lady.  I am.  However, I am absolutely thrilled that both patterned fabrics are happening in a big way.  I am beside myself with excitement!

With the major pieces decided and ordered, we’re onto deciding about art.

My family is big on art.  Judging by this first image that I showed you from my mom’s living room.

photo-412

All the walls in my mom’s home are covered with large pieces of art.  However, there is one wall that has been bare.  The pool house wall, above the fireplace.

photo 3-12

Sad, sad wall.

Ultimately, this is my mom’s home so she does get to make the final decision but I have made some art suggestions.

Paul Ferney

Paul Ferney

Paul Ferney is a favorite artist of mine.  He’s also a very nice guy who I’ve commissioned to do pieces for me several times.  And he’s local, based out of San Francisco.  He recently did an amazing series of beaches on the California coast. I’d ideally like one of those.

Going Personal

37d1b250b6798af3907b8f60983ff13e

My dad, who passed away five years ago, was a character, to put it lightly.  One thing he would always do is swim with a speedo on.  He wasn’t some major sport fanatic or a crazy talented swimmer, no, he just loved a good costume.  One of his favorite speedos was one he picked up in Australia.  I’d love to frame the speedo and get a really large matte for it.

Slim Aarons

15-slim-aarons-palm-springs

This is a pool house.  We are in California.  Wouldn’t one of his famous Palm Springs prints be so fitting?

And there you have it.  My choices.  My mom hasn’t committed to any of them so we may be without art on the final reveal.  Ultimately, it’s her choice and art can take time to pick.  What say you?  Which one would you choose?

Take a look at what others are doing here.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Grace: Two Months One Room Challenge Week Three

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Miles  |  October 9, 2014 at 8:59 AM

    Go Speedo!

    Reply
  • 2. deborah moore manning  |  October 9, 2014 at 9:08 AM

    Love the progress! My pick for the Art is Paul Ferney. . . amazingly good. But, I just had a thought; what about a Family Photo? Imwalle Reunion @ your Mom’s w/ all brother’s/wives/babies? Great excuse for a get together; maybe black and white? That way Grace could be a part of it. . ? xxd

    Reply
  • 3. Cheryl  |  October 9, 2014 at 10:53 AM

    definitely the Speedo!

    Reply
  • 4. Erin | Holtwood Hipster  |  October 9, 2014 at 11:00 AM

    A pool house makeover- what fun! I love the speedo idea. We use our enclosed patio for poolside entertaining and have a cool framed B/W photo of my departed father in law’s high school swim team, as well as old family photos taken by the pool displayed in there. They sort of add to the vibe – family, fun and memories made all summer long. Can’t wait to see how this space will come along!

    Reply
  • 5. celine@ aquahaus  |  October 9, 2014 at 11:56 AM

    I love the framed swim suits. I saw some at Round Top last year and they were so $$, but so awesome. Do it!!

    Reply
  • 6. Glynnis Hayward  |  October 9, 2014 at 11:59 AM

    Definitely the speedo! I have my Dad’s speedo too. If I had a pool house I’d frame it as well….

    Reply
  • 7. elaine taylor  |  October 9, 2014 at 12:00 PM

    What about a David Hockney pool print?

    Reply
  • 8. Linda @ Calling it Home  |  October 9, 2014 at 6:33 PM

    Love the Palm Springs piece. I used to go there with my friends, so it’s a favorite. Hope mom makes a decision soon.

    Reply
  • 9. christinedovey  |  October 9, 2014 at 6:59 PM

    CF Carnival- one of my all time faves!!! So excited to see what you do with it!

    Reply
  • 10. The Pink Pagoda  |  October 9, 2014 at 7:18 PM

    Oh my!! I’m going to LOVE this! Those fabrics are gorgeous — cannot wait to see more next week!

    Reply
  • 11. Pam @ Simple Details  |  October 9, 2014 at 8:38 PM

    Speedo, without a doubt! Love your fabrics, too!

    Reply
  • 12. Naomi (Design Manifest)  |  October 9, 2014 at 9:24 PM

    Awe I love the speedo idea. So sweet!! And the colors are really fun. Too bad about the pink, but no doubt you filled in with something else great.

    Reply
  • 13. theblueeyeddove  |  October 10, 2014 at 9:21 AM

    I think the speedo idea would be pretty cool! I like the direction you are headed in! Good luck this next week 🙂

    Reply
  • 14. Kim@The Green Room Interiors  |  October 10, 2014 at 5:51 PM

    Love your fabric selections – even without the pink! Art is so personal – can’t wait to see what your mom picks, but I love the Speedo idea!

    Reply
  • 15. kate@willowinteriors  |  October 13, 2014 at 6:59 AM

    Oh my gosh, this is going to be so fun to watch! Love the fabrics and your art choices…you are so right, absolutely fitting for a CA pool house! Good luck! 🙂

    Reply
  • 16. mrs. V | Chez V  |  October 14, 2014 at 9:24 AM

    Sounds like I would have adored your dad – speedo, a character and an appreciation for a great costume – sounds like some of my tribe. And the fabric choices are too die for. Bummer about the pink but I am sure the end result will be no less fabulous!!! Cannot wait to see.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 359 other followers


