One Room Challenge Week One

October 2, 2014 at 5:34 AM 9 comments

Hi all,

Peeking in from the throws of mommy hood to try out the One Room Challenge Linking Challenge.  I’ve always had great fun watching the One Room Challenge from afar but I thought it was time to pony up and give this challenge a try.

ORC-LP-Blue-250x183

 

To find out what the One Room Challenge created by Linda of Calling it Home is all about, check it out here.

So here we go.  Who is my lucky little client?  That would be the Kakerator.  My mama.

537927_10200097457071818_1689706677_n

My sweet mother has volunteered  given in to my begging to redo her pool house.  So hold on to your horses while this room gets a refresh…

photo-410

 

The upholstery is stained and tired and it’s just not the bright functional space it once was.  However, it’s time for glory days again for most of these pieces of furniture with some new hipper clothes (fabrics) on.  The space will also get repainted to go with the new scheme.

We are going for a pumped up palm beach chic color frenzy look.  A la this fab place done by Ruthie Sommers…

079eaa4178c12bd74e774f41cdac9f70

Lucky for me this little client of mine isn’t afraid of pattern or bold pieces.  Case in point, take a look at her sofa in her living room…

photo-412

Isn’t her sofa rad?  It’s always been a love of mine, as my mom knows.  And then, the vintage Clarence House print showed up in this years Design Showcase in SF.  Mom – you are so trendy right now.

tent_for_childrens_room_Decorator_Showcase_via_DesignLoversBlog

So there you have it.  I hope you stick around for the next six weeks.  I promise we’ve got some fun in store.  Hope to see you back here next week for a progress update.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Nursery Reveal Grace: Two Months

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. stephanie kraus  |  October 2, 2014 at 6:27 AM

    hmmmm …. love your style cant wait to see what you do with your stylish, on-trend mom’s room — lucky gal!

    Reply
  • 2. Debby Manning  |  October 2, 2014 at 6:48 AM

    Kate, the Clarence House sofa is stunning, timeless & beyond chic; I adore your Mom’s choice!! And yes, can’t wait to see the process @ work in the Pool House. . . Dream space to re- do, I’d say!!

    Reply
  • 3. deborah moore manning  |  October 2, 2014 at 6:55 AM

    Adored your “shout out” about Josie’s Beautiful Breakfast the other day. . . x

    Reply
  • 4. bunnibella  |  October 2, 2014 at 10:44 AM

    That couch is everything!! Are you keeping it as is???

    Reply
  • 5. mrs. V | Chez V  |  October 2, 2014 at 12:18 PM

    That sofa of your momma’s is outrageously good! Love it. And love anything Ruthie Sommers so I am going to love this transformation for sure!! Welcome to the craziness!

    Reply
  • 6. MY NOTTING HILL  |  October 2, 2014 at 2:19 PM

    Looking forward to following along. I have a pool but no pool house so I’ll be living vicariously through this. Love your inspiration pics.

    Reply
  • 7. celine @aquahaus  |  October 2, 2014 at 8:16 PM

    Welcome to the jungle. I am a long time follower of your blog, so happy you’ve joined in. Excited to follow the pool house transformation; they’re the best!

    Reply
  • 8. theblueeyeddove  |  October 7, 2014 at 10:54 AM

    I’m so jealous…wish I had a pool house! Excited to follow along and see all the updates you make to this fun space. Good luck 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Mary Karen  |  October 7, 2014 at 12:59 PM

    This will be fun…for you AND for me, since as you know I recently viisited the “before” poolhouse! Can’t wait to take the journey with you via your blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 360 other followers


