My Motivation

October 27, 2014 at 5:34 AM 5 comments

I have seven pounds to go until I reach my pre-pregnancy weight. It’s actually a much easier number to deal with then last go around, so it all feels manageable.  Perhaps a little too manageable.  I think I’ve been sitting around hoping that the weight would just come off on its own.  But, my body doesn’t work that way, at least not in my 30’s, it doesn’t.  Losing the weight alone wasn’t motivating me to get off my a$$.  So, it was time to get some true motivation going.

What will get me up and moving?  Wallpaper.  Obviously.  I set a goal for myself that if I exercise at least three times a week for four weeks in a row, then I can buy wallpaper for someplace in my home.  If sometime during the four weeks, I don’t meet the three times a week goal, then I start all the way back at week one.  If I half ass a workout, it doesn’t count as a day.  I’m entering into my third week of consistent, difficult exercise.  The wallpaper is motivating me.  To get me through the tough workouts, I think of wallpaper.  I’m obsessed.  It’s strange.  It doesn’t make sense.  I also had an ikat dream lastnight.  I kid you not.  How many people literally dream of Ikat? #decoratorproblems

The wallpaper obsession has brought me to so many different papers and looks.  Our house is exploding with wallpaper samples.  This week I’m on a William Morris inspired, botanical kick.  Here are some faves…

Trustworth Studios:

modern-colonial-home-santa-monica-kids-playroom-0214-l

 

e0d7157acd0d6eacaaf2fd387040730a

 

9641488d88b0cc314dff6593b0b9c47f

 

Abigail Borg:

bec63f0edcecdc08d6b08156b305a193

2e6f4a0af9bc62d3943c5c8fa4c0363c

8c0936f37afc9d90979233c61a9616f5

Josef Frank:

677b3e85986302d329fa17098904e214

88b4c2e63387a6f228ac3afe5cad1cfd

 

3c58717b0f9a53374fe454caec6c6723What will I buy once the exercise is met?  I don’t have a clue.  There are just so many choices.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

One Room Challenge: Week Four Taking a Chance

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beatrice  |  October 27, 2014 at 7:26 AM

    The wallpaper/exercise motivation is a great idea. Don’t forget that you nurtured Grace for nine months and it will take your body that long to recover and “re-think” itself. I thought that you looked wonderful this October so don’t pay any attention to what the idiots at the post office were saying. Sometimes people just don’t think things through!
    I’d like to see some softer wall papers. I’m looking for something for our tiny foyer. I want it to be really elegant since our space is so miniscule.

    Reply
  • 2. celine @aquahaus  |  October 27, 2014 at 7:28 AM

    I love your motivation. That is awesome. And the ikat dreams? Hilarious!

    Reply
  • 3. Ashley  |  October 27, 2014 at 4:46 PM

    I have the “Apothecary’s Garden” paper sample in our half bathroom–it’s definitely happening. Whatever gets you through the workout, I say!

    Reply
  • 4. Megan Bachmann  |  October 29, 2014 at 1:22 PM

    the best motivation ever! love that idea to get motivated by something you really, actually want!!! and once that wallpaper is hung up, you will feel even better that you gave it to yourself by working out so much! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Catherine  |  November 5, 2014 at 5:24 PM

    You are hysterical! I might do something like this to get me off my a$$!! My number to lose is WAY bigger!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


