ORC – Patio Reveal Day

May 12, 2016 at 5:30 AM 49 comments

IMG_3793

Calling It Home’s One Room Challenge, where you decorate one room in six weeks from start to finish, is like having a newborn.  Those first six sleep deprived weeks are both joyful, tearful, blissful and insane.  And then the baby starts sleeping and you forget about those weeks and you want to do it all over again and again.  At least that’s what happens to me.

I’m pregnant with my third child so that could be why the analogy feels so fitting.  Well at the end of week six, I’m exhausted and I could use a drink that isn’t a “mocktail.”

For those allowed cocktails, let me show you our new favorite spot for drinks and dinner.  Our revamped patio…

IMG_3799

And here is what it looked like six weeks ago…

img_7382 (1)

Goodbye to that unused, unattractive table and chairs that the previous owner of our home just left behind.  Hello to the custom Christopher Farr Cloth cushions, Serena and Lily pillows, bench handmade by my husband, Dash and Albert Rug, Turf clad coffee table, vintage faux bamboo chairs and a vintage elephant side table.  Each of these pieces makes me super happy.

IMG_3792

Isn’t that bench amazing?!  I’m super proud of my husband’s secret woodworking skills.  He should never have revealed his skills because now I’m constantly coming up with projects for him.

ICP_1128

It’s hard to pick a winner but I must say this fabric makes me the happiest of them all.  I’ve been dreaming of having it in my home for the past eight years when I first saw it in Australian Vogue.  It didn’t hurt that my mom had the left over fabric from the One Room Challenge that I did four times ago of her pool house.  I took the left over fabric from her sofa.  Thanks mom!

Desantiphoto_150603_kate-89-Edit-Edit-4

Back to the project this time around.  In addition to my favorite Christopher Far Cloth Fabric, I also loved the Montecito pillow from Serena and Lily.  It’s the softest outdoor pillow I have ever felt.  I have no idea how they pulled it off.

ICP_1133

The other loves are the grass ottoman that I got at the Filoli Gardens boutique.  It’s a beautiful local garden that I visit often with my girls and for month’s on end, I would walk by that grass ottoman and wish for it to be mine.  They have a once a year sale and I grabbed it faster than you can say, “sold sweetie.”

IMG_3695

Those vintage bamboo chairs I bought about eight years ago at a thrift store for $40.  I sprayed them in an outdoor spray paint and we’ll see how long they last outdoors.  We don’t have a spot for them indoors.

ICP_1153

IMG_3699

Remember New York Seltzer?  I thought they went to the land of Tab.  I drank one after the shoot and it was delicious – absolutely packed with sugar but delicious.  Also, that flower looks straight out of a cartoon but I assure you it’s a real peony.

Down those steps comes our newly revamped bar/bar-b-que area…

ICP_1217

As a refresher, here is what it looked like six weeks ago…

cc2b28ca-28fc-4bb6-8bf2-dc644f2e8432

They say the heart of the home is the kitchen, for us it’s our bar-b-que.  We use this spot all the time from May through October.  And I have HATED the red chipped tile since we moved in two years ago.I absolutely love the new tile and I’m so happy that we decided to tile the entire bar.  What a difference!

I wanted an antique blue/white tile to go with our 1936 spanish colonial home.  But sometimes “wants” run a couple hundred a square foot.  Enter this faux antique from Wayfair tile for $5.65 sq/ft!

IMG_3725

We nearly cheaped out and didn’t fully tile the back but I’m thrilled we went the extra mile.  That hole to the right will be getting a refrigerator and that brick area is where a wood burning fire pit goes.

ICP_1287

That Salamat Designs light, hanging over the bar, was a battle to get with my husband; we tried out three different lights until we landed on that one – the best one!  It was my top choice all along.  Luckily for me, Salamat Designs is based out of San Francisco and they let me come to their warehouse earlier this week to get the light.  It’s actually only up by fishing wire right now.  Electrician will be out next week – because it truly has only been six weeks.

Moving right along, just beyond the bar is a large farmhouse table that my husband also built.  We didn’t do any changes to it but I did put together a tablescape.  PS – I cut that palm frond from our own back yard!

IMG_3801

I tried to keep the tablesetting as simple as possible which is tough for a maximalist like me.

ICP_1207

Those flower pots are some of my favorites ever for tablescapes; they were a gift from my mom.

IMG_3637

IMG_3673

You can see that just beyond the table sit two green wicker chairs that are positioned to look out on the lawn.

IMG_3649

I just had new cushions made for the green chairs.  Even though the least was done here, this is where I spend most of my time, sitting and watching the girls run on the lawn.

IMG_3797

It’s all very new but I can already say that we use it all the time.

IMG_3790

Some find a spot to dance

IMG_3784

Some lounge on it like little queens.

IMG_3746It’s a pretty awesome spot.  I’m not going to lie.  Now to invite people over.

I encourage you to go check out all the participants and their hard work in the One Room Challenge at Linda’s blog, here.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

ORC: Shit Happens Roman Shade Trim Options

49 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erin  |  May 12, 2016 at 6:39 AM

    Ahh, the seduction of ORC. It looks so peaceful and pretty! Huge transformation. I love it. I’ll have a real cocktail in your honor.

    Reply
    • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2016 at 3:44 PM

      Thank you so much, Erin! It is a seductive little beast of a challenge, isn’t it? Can’t wait to watch you next time while I sit from the sidelines

      Reply
  • 3. Graham Belchers  |  May 12, 2016 at 7:12 AM

    Great job!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply
  • 5. Morgane @ Bear, Dolly and Moi  |  May 12, 2016 at 7:24 AM

    wow, so beautiful! I love the tile you used, everything looks so nice and inviting. Enjoy your retreat!

    Reply
    • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2016 at 3:44 PM

      Thank you so much! I’m actually typing this response from the patio space and it sure does feel like a retreat.

      Reply
  • 7. celine @aquahaus  |  May 12, 2016 at 7:52 AM

    Holy cow. Kate! Wow!! I love the personal handmade touch of some of the furniture and the transformation of the bamboo chairs. It is all so good. My fave is the bar. So glad you tiled all of it. And wow, your property is spectacular! The backyard is to die for!! Such a lovely place to gather… Speaking of which, when are we gathering!?

    Reply
    • 8. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2016 at 3:46 PM

      Thank you so much, Celine!! And thank you for the IG shout out as well! I’m so happy you we tiled the entire bar. When you had commented to go for it with the entire wall, I knew I was on the right track. I can’t wait to see your bathroom all finished.

      Reply
  • 9. Ellie Good  |  May 12, 2016 at 8:16 AM

    It all turned out so well! I’m in love with that fabric too, and that tile is great! Good work!

    Reply
    • 10. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2016 at 3:46 PM

      Thank you so much!! The fabric is so much fun and thank you about the tile!

      Reply
  • 11. deborah moore manning  |  May 12, 2016 at 8:17 AM

    Oh My Goodness! Your ORC is the Winner of all time! I could go on and on(and so I will)! First, your backyard space is lovely; the pergolas, the tiered steps from the patio, the lawn space and the Garden all set the stage for your transformation. . . huge kudos to Graham for his woodworking genius, the daybed bench is perfect and the dining table fits perfectly. Also, his love of Gardening shows, each area is lush and green and wonderful; Yay Graham! The fabrics, Dash and Albert rug, S&L pillows all add to the South of France feel your garden inspires. . . The tiled bar and chandy speak to me and highlight the outdoor Kitchen. And the models lounging/dancing on the upper patio are Darling times Ten! Homerun! and I’ll have Two Cocktails to Celebrate your Success. xd

    Reply
    • 12. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2016 at 3:47 PM

      Thank you for going on and on!! Your comments are always my favorite. And thanks for your support in yet another round of ORC. Yes, Graham is a big gardener and it’s so nice to have his skills!

      Reply
  • 13. Heather Peterson  |  May 12, 2016 at 8:21 AM

    So, so cute!!! I love the tile best. 🙂

    Reply
  • 15. laurie at laurie jones home  |  May 12, 2016 at 8:25 AM

    Gorgeous with a capital G! Everything is sooooo beautiful, but seriously I’m dying over that grass ottoman!! Great job!!!! ❤

    Reply
    • 16. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2016 at 3:48 PM

      Thank you!! I’m so glad you like it. It was a bit of a “risk” but it’s my favorite.

      Reply
  • 17. Mary Karen  |  May 12, 2016 at 8:29 AM

    Kate, you are absolutely amazing! Your creativity abounds as always, resulting in such a gorgeous and inviting space. Now…Party On, Darlings!

    Reply
  • 19. Madeline  |  May 12, 2016 at 8:56 AM

    hot damn! That space looks soooooooooooooo good. Both beautiful and functional. I wish you many happy gatherings there!

    Reply
    • 20. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2016 at 3:49 PM

      Ah – thank you so much!! We can’t wait to start hosting parties!

      Reply
  • 21. Kristina  |  May 12, 2016 at 10:50 AM

    Just read again and honestly I love this. Maybe if I show my husband, it will convince him that we finally need to move to California? What a wonderful space and you are so talented!!!

    Reply
    • 22. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2016 at 3:50 PM

      Thank you so much, Kristina!! That means so much to me. Hopefully he’s convinced and then he and Graham could commute together.

      Reply
  • 23. Lindsey  |  May 12, 2016 at 12:05 PM

    WHOOHOO! I love every bit of it. Especially the ottoman. WOWZA!

    Reply
    • 24. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2016 at 3:50 PM

      Thank you!! The ottoman is fun – I’m so glad that you like it!!

      Reply
  • 25. amanda  |  May 12, 2016 at 1:37 PM

    I would dine out even in bad weather if this was my patio. Great job. Every detail is perfect.

    Reply
    • 26. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2016 at 3:50 PM

      Thank you!! The wind can pick up a lot in the evenings but you’ll still see us out here.

      Reply
  • 27. Rita  |  May 12, 2016 at 4:21 PM

    As always Kate it is stunning, you know how much I love your work.

    Reply
  • 29. blue hydrangea  |  May 12, 2016 at 5:55 PM

    Love it all!!!! That grass covered ottoman is the bomb! Great job!!

    Reply
    • 30. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2016 at 3:51 PM

      Thank you, Sissy!! I so fell in love with the grass ottoman – it was a have to have it moment. I’m so glad that you love it because I love your taste!!

      Reply
  • 31. Tiffany  |  May 12, 2016 at 7:41 PM

    Wow! Party at your house! Love all of this but that fabric steals the show. Congrats!

    Reply
    • 32. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2016 at 3:51 PM

      Thank you so much!! It’s my favorite too. Yes – party for sure.

      Reply
  • 33. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 12, 2016 at 8:12 PM

    ABSOLUTELY SPECTACULAR CONGRATULATIONS

    Reply
  • 35. lakbir  |  May 12, 2016 at 8:41 PM

    Absolutely loving the all the colors, texture and the tile .What a fun space !

    Reply
  • 37. playdatesparties  |  May 12, 2016 at 9:03 PM

    Oh, wow! I love all that you’ve done! The one area with the grassy ottoman is pretty awesome, but your bar just takes it over the top! Such a fantastic space…well done!

    Reply
    • 38. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2016 at 3:52 PM

      Thank you so much!! The bar is a fun spot to hang out and relax.

      Reply
  • 39. Anna  |  May 12, 2016 at 10:03 PM

    Kate, it looks great! I am so excited to drink cocktails and wine with you on your new patio. I see a trip this fall after your baby comes. 🙂

    >

    Reply
    • 40. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2016 at 3:53 PM

      Ooooh – pretty please!! Come on over. Baby will need his girlfriend and Josie/Grace miss their boyfriend.

      Reply
  • 41. Fran  |  May 13, 2016 at 3:58 AM

    Your patio is what dreams are made of – seriously!! I love everything about it and would be cooking, eating, drinking and playing with the kids out there every minute!! My favorite things are the tile, your bench, carnival fabric, bamboo chairs, patio table and your little girls in the pictures! It’s all so good Kate and I hope you get to enjoy it these last couple of months before number 3 arrives!! Love it! Congrats again!

    Reply
    • 42. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2016 at 3:54 PM

      Thank you so much, Fran!! That really means the world to me as you know I love your style so much! I wish we didn’t live across the country from eachother; I’d have you over in a heartbeat. I’m actually writing this reply from the bench and it’s pretty heavenly to be out here.

      Reply
  • 43. Lisa  |  May 13, 2016 at 5:55 AM

    Stunning! What a beautiful space for your family and for entertaining!!!

    Reply
  • 45. Holly - hcb interiors  |  May 13, 2016 at 7:02 AM

    Love every detail! Y’all did such a great job; very impressed with your husband’s handiwork. Can y’all come do my patio next? 😉 You knocked it out of the park yet again!

    Reply
    • 46. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2016 at 3:55 PM

      Thank you so much, Holly!! Oh yes – he’s for hire. He just takes a really really long time…works occasional weekends, during kids nap times only. I bet your husband could pull it off though – he’s handy.

      Reply
  • 47. Allie  |  May 13, 2016 at 10:57 AM

    Kate!!!! Holy Sh*&, it looks amazing out there! I’m going to stop by and visit a lot more often 🙂

    Reply
    • 48. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2016 at 3:57 PM

      Thank you!! I’m holding you to that little missy. Get on over here!!! We could discuss shower details over mocktails. I know how much you love Mocktails.

      Reply
  • 49. Lianna@theresnoplacelikehomemke  |  May 15, 2016 at 4:53 PM

    that patio is to die for – I agree that fabric makes me happy too!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors\' designed gift...

Join 363 other subscribers