ORC: Shit Happens

May 5, 2016 at 5:17 AM 14 comments

Honestly, I’m not the hugest fan of rugs used outdoors.  But I’m even less of a fan of my outdoor hardscape.  So, I got this rug from Dash and Albert for our patio lounge area.

C3HerringboneFrenchBlueIndoorOutdoorRug_DA293_product_list

It arrived during nap time this past Saturday which was a perfect opportunity to lay it out and to debate wether or not to keep it.

IMG_2272

Then, my 20 month old and three year old woke up and I moved on.

It was a hot day and so naturally my girls got naked because that’s what kids do.  Right?

The number one unsolicited parenting advice I receive is to potty train in the summer so that your kids can run around naked.  Graham suggested we take the diaper off our twenty month old so we can “potty train” her.  To which I replied, “what if she poos?” to which he responded “I’ll clean it up” to which I quickly agreed.

We were all four roaming around outside doing our own things when we hear our three year old exclaim, “who pooed on the rug?!”

I ran to the rug and sure enough there was poo, without question, supplied by our 20 month old.  And she successfully landed 100% on the rug; there was no half-assing it.

Graham was stuck on clean up duty.  He did a very thorough job while the girls and I stood back and watched.  Then we flipped the rug over.

IMG_2260

So guess what?  We’re keeping the rug.  But, the good news is that I like it!

FullSizeRender (2)

See the full monty (of the rug, not my daughter) next week.  Until then, here are a few sneak peeks in whats to come…

IMG_2279

IMG_2278

IMG_2277

check out the other participants here at Calling it Home.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Baby Boy Nursery Plans ORC – Patio Reveal Day

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Madeline  |  May 5, 2016 at 7:43 AM

    Kate, that is looking so beautiful! Kids have quite the knack for forcing our hands. Whenever I bring homes clothes that I’m on the fence about, my daughter “helps” by ripping off the tags and throwing them away.

    Reply
  • 2. Reviving Charm  |  May 5, 2016 at 8:46 AM

    What might be a crisis in the moment turns into a funny story down the road…and a great post!

    Reply
  • 3. thekidsandkim  |  May 5, 2016 at 8:47 AM

    That is hilarious! I love the rug and cannot wait to see your reveal!

    Reply
  • 4. priss&vinegar  |  May 5, 2016 at 11:09 AM

    Mad props for potty-training your 20 month-old! Brooks will probably be in diapers at his third birthday party 🙈

    Major Dash & Albert fan over here! The options are colorful and tailored, and the price point is so good that when they get a little tired looking (or poop-stained, as the case may be) you’re not heartbroken about replacing them.

    Reply
  • 5. Lindsey  |  May 5, 2016 at 2:32 PM

    LOOKS SO GOOD!!! I love it!

    Reply
  • 6. Almost Home  |  May 5, 2016 at 2:33 PM

    Love the rug! It’s all looking so fab (per usual!). Can’t wait for the full reveal! Oh, and I need some serious help potty training my crazy two year old!! You would think the third time’s a charm, but girlfriend gives me a run for my money every.single.day! 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Fran  |  May 5, 2016 at 2:44 PM

    That is HILARIOUS!!! So great! Love your posts! It all looks great and I love the turf – is that a table?? Can’t wait to see your reveal, Kate! It’s all SOO good – poop or no poop! 😉

    Reply
  • 8. Hollie Cooper  |  May 5, 2016 at 2:47 PM

    Cant wait to see your space. I am dying to pretty up our backyard.

    Reply
  • 9. mollie's mom  |  May 5, 2016 at 6:02 PM

    Love it! The rug and the story!!

    Reply
  • 10. celine @aquahaus  |  May 5, 2016 at 6:29 PM

    Bahahahaha. This story is so hilarious. The bar looks SO good. OMG. That tile is perfect. So Santa Barbara Chic.

    Reply
  • 11. lauraingallsgunn  |  May 5, 2016 at 10:29 PM

    Hahah! I adore the sneak peeks and I can’t wait for the reveal! I love the direction the space is going in. As a fellow ORC participant it’s been wonderful to gather some fantastic inspiration. I’d love for you to share your progress at Thoughts of Home on Thursday. Our readers would love to see it. The gathering is at http://www.decortoadore.net

    Reply
  • 12. nancy  |  May 6, 2016 at 12:50 PM

    been there done that…oh the things our kids do. or doo. you’ll be telling that story at her wedding reception one day. love the christopher farr fabric beyond words.

    Reply
  • 13. Arielle | Scotch & Nonsense  |  May 10, 2016 at 11:58 AM

    Ha! Dying. At least the rug you were forced to keep looks great (and clean)!

    Reply
  • 14. Donielle  |  May 11, 2016 at 10:50 PM

    So glad I’ve been introduced to your blog and got to read this post. I think Grace just really really liked the rug and decided she wanted you to keep it. Smart gal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


