Roman Shade Trim Options

May 16, 2016 at 5:12 AM 7 comments

Thank you so much for your comments and sharing of my One Room Challenge project.  They absolutely made my day and my entire weekend, frankly.

I’m now jumping from one home design project to the next.  The nursery.

As a refresher here is the plan so far –

IMG_7223

The Katie Ridder Beetlecat wallpaper has been ordered; I custom colored it so that the flags and sail outline are actually red instead of pink.  The Quadrille zig zag fabric is sitting in my living room and ready to be made into Roman Shades.  Today my seamstress will be over to measure the windows and get to work on the shades.

Here is where today’s decision comes in.  I’m going to do a blue grosgrain tape that matches the background of the blue in the paper on the shade.  So how to position the tape.

IMG_3186

Option A would be to just put it along the bottom like how Lauren Nelson did in this office

thumbnail_WestNewton

Option B would be three sided with the taping inset on the shade as Erin Gates did in this girls room

33820b4a4e66d2110c9293fedcc7e6b6

Option C would be to do the taping inset but let it criss cross at the ends like this boy’s room from the Salt Lake City Parade of Homes

IMG_9909

Thoughts?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

ORC – Patio Reveal Day Bora Bora Bridal Bash

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fran  |  May 16, 2016 at 7:12 AM

    Love what you are doing with this nursery!! I’m partial to Option B!!

    Reply
  • 2. deborah moore manning  |  May 16, 2016 at 8:15 AM

    Tough one; I think I’d do Option A. Just along the bottom OR I’d do a wider white ribbon trim that would ‘brighten the look rather than further saturate w/ color. Or maybe that would be a more Girlie look than Boy? I always go more Neutral than not, so. . . then I’d go w/ Option B. Love the paper and S&L pin dot sheets; Fabu!
    Also, I had a thought when I worshiped @ the Altar of your ORC. Could one of the pillars/posts of the Pergola be used as a Growth Chart for the Kids? you know, marks w/ name and date as they grow Taller? Great place to show their friends & family “how big I am”!! xd

    Reply
  • 3. Heather Peterson  |  May 16, 2016 at 10:27 AM

    I like B! BUT only if the pattern is centered on the window so the trim hits the pattern in the same way on the two sides. Super cute!

    Reply
  • 4. Glynnis Hayward  |  May 16, 2016 at 10:48 AM

    I like option B

    Reply
  • 5. Erin  |  May 16, 2016 at 11:02 AM

    This will be adorable! I like the simplicity of Option A, especially with a colored ribbon. More ribbon like in Option B and C might work better with white, but I also think a white ribbon would be too pale against the yellow zig zag. I love the added geometry of Option C but with a solid fabric on the shade. So….Option A. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Mary Karen  |  May 16, 2016 at 7:18 PM

    At first I thought “A”, but given the ziggy-ness of the fabric pattern and folding of the shade, am coming to think it too sort of severe and linear. My vote it for “B”. What fun!

    Reply
  • 7. priss&vinegar  |  May 25, 2016 at 3:17 PM

    Option B is so darn tailored that *of course* I love it best, but this room is going to be a showstopper whatever you choose 💙

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 359 other followers


