Dining Room Chair Redo Thoughts

April 25, 2013 at 8:50 AM 5 comments

I don’t know if you recall my dining room chairs, but these are them –

8089626_orig

I found two pairs separately at two different consignment stores.  I mean what luck I had to be able to gather a set of four.  And I got all four for a steal!

I spray painted them white and let them be.  However, there are problems with them.  1. They sit too low and need seat cushions made.  2. The spray paint is chipping all over the place on them because my hasty self did not use a primer. 3. The caning on one of them is about to break through.  I toyed with throwing the towel in on these chairs and buying different dining room chairs.  But, I wasn’t ready to do just that.  I find it harder to give up vintage finds.  SO, I thought, how about giving them a new lease on life – paint them a new color, get fabulous seat cushions made and just ignore the caning issue?  I’ve got the potential fabric picked out (a polka dot number).  And I’ve been toying with the idea of going a new bold color for the chairs, when I came upon this image…

yellow-outside-dining-chairs

Designed by Anna Spiro

Anna Spiro used the exact same chairs in an outdoor design.  Anna Spiro is only one of my all time favorite designers ever.  She can do no wrong.  None.  She gets preppy, chic, modern, vintage, pattern play, color – all of it.  She not only get it; she’s a master at it.

So, it’s settled then.  My dining room chairs are getting seat cushions and a new color.  Luckily for me, a friend of mine’s boyfriend is a master spray painter.  I wonder if he’d like to volunteer to spray paint the chairs…especially if I ask him holding this face in front of me.

photo (9)

I mean, who could say no to that face?

Also, if he replies, “maybe” or “we’ll see” or some other non committal phrase – he’ll receive this face…

photo (10)

And if he gives a strong no, he’ll receive this face…

photo (11)

Man, 11 week olds really come in handy.  And on that note, happy 11 weeks to my precious daughter and all of her many expressions.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Before and After Umbrella – ella – ella

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dmm  |  April 25, 2013 at 9:03 AM

    Very glad you are keeping the chairs; way too wonderful to ‘chuck’. . . Josie is angelic and very much one “hot tomato”!

    Reply
  • 2. bridget  |  April 25, 2013 at 9:08 AM

    Okay, Josie’s second expression is hilarious. She is the cutest. I agree: paint the chairs and make cute cushions. Get as much life as you can out of them. And then if one punks out take 2 of them and make outdoor fabric cushions for your balcony or something. those chairs are so pretty and comfortable! Can’t wait to hear what color you choose.

    Reply
  • 3. Glynnis Hayward  |  April 25, 2013 at 11:24 AM

    Love the daughter and the chairs.

    Reply
  • 4. Nikki  |  April 25, 2013 at 8:21 PM

    Master Spray Painter sounds dreamy. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Ashley  |  April 26, 2013 at 5:38 AM

    I know I’m totally in the minority, but I love the white. I’m sure whatever color you choose and whatever adorable face Josie makes, you will get 4 lovely like-new chairs out of it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 362 other followers


