Love at First Sight

October 19, 2015 at 4:14 AM 2 comments

It was love at first sight for me and my outdoor coffee table.  When you know, you know..you know?  Alas, the coffee table played hard to get with a very steep price tag.  So, I visited often, I never forgot about it and I waited.  This past Saturday, the shop at Filoli, where I spied my coffee table, had 50% off sale for the entire store.

You want to know who showed up on the shop’s doorstep two minutes before opening?  This lady.  One swipe of the credit card and he was mine.

He’s a faux grass bench (technically) but throw a tray on and he’s a table.

IMG_6593

Now, we’ve got Graham’s daybed, two faux bamboo chairs (that used to be our dining room chairs, and a coffee table…

IMG_6597

I hate our hardscape but there’s nothing we can do about it until we add on.  I’m considering a sisal rug as a part time solution.

Remember how I chatted about buying fabric to make a seat cushion?  Well, shocker, I was unable to pull the trigger.  I had decided on this scheme.

img_4572

But when priced out it was beyond what I wanted to spend for something that sits outside in the harsh California elements.

Now that I have the coffee table, I’m reconsidering fabric options.  I’ve been reading Anna Spiro’s coffee table book and it’s been inspiring me to try going crazy with pillows – tons in different patterns.  Something along these lines pillows wise…

 IMG_6618

I do have quadrille zig zag left over from my One Room Challenge so I may use it on the club chairs.

IMG_6620

Since the coffee table is officially mine, I’m hoping it’ll give me the kick in the pants needed to finish off the space before El Nino hits.

My sister in law was with me when I bought the coffee table and she thought it was very palm beach/kentucky.  So we’ve decided that I’m going with the Palm Beach Derby look.  I envision a derby party in our future.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

One Room Challenge: Week 2 One Room Challenge: Picking a Paint

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindsey  |  October 19, 2015 at 12:23 PM

    LOVE THIS SO MUCH! 🙂 Bravo on the find!

    Reply
  • 2. Glynnis Hayward  |  October 19, 2015 at 12:44 PM

    I love it and look forward to seeing it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


