One Room Challenge: Picking a Paint

October 22, 2015 at 5:02 AM 8 comments

What’s a One Room Challenge without a few tears?

Just like there’s no use crying over spilt milk, there’s no use crying over dried paint.  But my eyes did well up with tears and a few ran down my cheek.

But before we get into this week.  If you’re just joining in today – I’m revamping my girls’ walk-in closet for the six week challenge and here is the plan…

Slide1

The few tears happened because I can’t get this damn pink paint color right.  I’m frustrated and tired.  Twice now I thought I found the right color painted out a bunch of the closet and then I hated it, which means repainting all of that work as well.

The first time, I had my local paint store color match the Sister Parish fabric that will be used as the window drapes.  The color ended up feeling like hospital pink and I just hated it.

IMG_6407

The second time, I thought I had the correct color for sure and then my mom walked into the closet and said, “oh” and not in a good way.  She tried to backtrack but the honesty was right there in her gut reaction.  The pink ran too cold and will make the paper look dirty.

IMG_6433

All my work was not paying off…

IMG_6430

The best looking pink with the Best in Show wallpaper is a dusty pink because of it’s cream background but I’m not a fan of dusty pink.  Here in lies the problem.  So I sampled and sampled and sampled paint colors.  I obsessed.  And then I got stuck in analysis paralysis.

IMG_6656

Enough is enough.  My mom stepped in with the gift of a painter and the gift of the painter coming on a certain day which means that decisions needed to be made.  Thank you, Mom!

I decided on Rosey Outlook by Sherwin Williams.  It may have partially won out from the name alone.  I’d love nothing else than the girls to have a rosey outlook on life.

color-swatch

The walk in closet as of now…

IMG_6784

I’m thrilled with the color and I’m so happy I bit the bullet and decided on a color.

Also, some tips that I learned along the way for pink paint: usually pick the paint that is at the top of the paint strip; pink tends to build on itself and it can intensify quickly.  Also, if you want to go a little lower on the paint strip, trying cutting the paint and adding in 50% white.

Next step is the wallpaper installation.  I can’t wait!!  You can check in on the other participants of the One Room Challenge here.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Love at First Sight One Room Challenge: Wallpaper Is Up!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. whalingcitycottage  |  October 22, 2015 at 6:16 AM

    Pink is hard! I think you nailed it though. Also the little window in the closet kills me.

    Reply
  • 2. Debbie  |  October 22, 2015 at 6:32 AM

    The color you’ve decided on looks great and love the wallpaper! I’m redoing my bedroom in my “new – used” home. I’ve chosen a blush with cream and gold colors….not sure if I want my wall blush or cream tho. Guess I need to break down and do some paint samples!!!
    Your post has definitely inspired me. Thx

    Reply
  • 3. ellebrightdesigns  |  October 22, 2015 at 6:37 AM

    Your mom is a total gem!! Rosey outlook is perfect!

    Reply
  • 4. deborah moore manning  |  October 22, 2015 at 6:37 AM

    Love the Pink you decided on; Thank God your Mom came to the rescue. . . we are quite good @ it. Please find the book Hazel’s Amazing Mother. My Girls are all grown up and still quote it and refer to it and even when Daughter one was in London, she’d say, ” I need you; please be Hazel’s Mother and COME over here . . ”
    Back to the Girl’s Closet; the little window is waay past amazing and the Paper, just so whimsical and Perfect!
    xd

    Reply
  • 5. Holly  |  October 22, 2015 at 8:50 AM

    Roses outlook looks perfect! Can’t believe the first faded like that – it was definitely hospital pink! It’s going to be a great space!

    Reply
  • 6. Fran  |  October 22, 2015 at 11:17 AM

    Yay for Mom!! All your paint swatches around the perimeter of the closet wall made me laugh. I thought I was the only one who had difficulty picking paint colors!! And, I love the paint’s name…..you know it was meant to be telling you to keep a ‘rosy outlook’ b/c this room is going to be SO good!! xoxox

    Reply
  • 7. christinedovey  |  October 22, 2015 at 7:46 PM

    The pink you chose looks perfect and I love the combo of it with the wallpaper!

    Reply
  • 8. stephanie kraus  |  October 27, 2015 at 4:32 PM

    LOVE it!! this is gonna be so good!! xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 362 other followers


