Tablescaping in an Apple Orchard

October 13, 2015 at 5:51 AM 6 comments

IMG_6376 (1)

You know you’re living a great life when you have too many friends and so you either have to have a 70th birthday party the size of the wedding or split it up into two fabulous parties.  My mom is that lucky.  We had her first 70th birthday party with family, close college lifetime friends and wonderful, supportive friends that she’s met traveling, post my dad’s passing.  Round two will be in November.

The party was held at our special family ranch and we had a long sit down table in the apple orchard for 70 people.

This was my largest tablescape by far and so quite a bit of prep went into it.  We wanted to go for a fall palate and that was dictated by the orange plaid napkins that I got at Pier 1.

IMG_6375       On top of each napkin, we placed a menu and little wooden pigs that I found off of ETSY and strung with bakers twine.

IMG_6156

Down the center of the table, we placed pumpkins, pomegranate buds, gourds and greens, all of which was foraged from the ranch.

IMG_6158

We also put out mason jars filled with popcorn kernels and candles

IMG_6244

 It was such a fun weekend and a fabulous dinner, not to mention the food was out of this world – it was a pig roast.  Yum!

I couldn’t have put this beast of a table together without the prep work help of my mom, and the day of help with my Aunt Brenda and sister in law, Bridget!!  Thank you ladies for helping to carry pumpkins, cut down branches and place one apple after another after another after another.

IMG_6312

Also, it must be noted that Grace matched the napkins.  You know how I love a theme.

IMG_6265

Also, the girls and I had a trio of vests on cause I can’t resist matching.  I just can’t.

IMG_6334 (1)

After dinner was dancing in our barn.

IMG_6252

It was a wonderful night and best of all my mom had a blast!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

One Room Challenging Once Again One Room Challenge: Week 2

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary Karen  |  October 13, 2015 at 8:57 AM

    Looks like you all had a grand celebration of a wonderful milestone! The tablescaping is so creative & festive and I love the picture in my mind of your Mom in the barn, as she always dances with such heart & soul. Absolutely Fabulous!

    Reply
  • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  October 13, 2015 at 9:19 AM

    It was an absolutely gorgeous, wonderful, fantastic weekend. A huge thank you to Kate for the hard work researching, planing and doing the tables. And another huge thank you to Brenda and Bridget. It was an exceptionally beautiful and fun event The 70’s are going to be great. Lots of love, Mom

    Reply
  • 3. Anne {Almost Home}  |  October 13, 2015 at 2:43 PM

    Two things:

    1. The table(s) look amazing!!! So many great details! I nominate you, Kate, to write a book on tablescaping. You have quite the gift!

    2. I have seen pictures you have shared of your gorgeous mama. I refuse to believe she is 70!! no way. happy birthday to her!

    Reply
  • 4. Fran  |  October 13, 2015 at 6:34 PM

    Wow! Absolutely spectacular! You did such a great job with the tablescape and I agree with the commenter above that you need to write a book on tablescaping. How do you do it all? And, to think your mother has so many wonderful friends and family to help celebrate her 70th is such a beautiful gift! How special!!

    Reply
  • 5. Glynnis Hayward  |  October 13, 2015 at 10:52 PM

    Beautiful – well done.

    Reply
  • 6. Kirsten  |  October 16, 2015 at 11:36 AM

    Beautiful and so special! And really sweet words about your Mother

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 362 other followers


