One Room Challenging Once Again

October 8, 2015 at 7:44 AM 8 comments

It’s the One Room Challenge time.  I look back at my past One Room Challenges and I literally don’t even remember doing them.  The first one I did – my mom’s pool house, Grace was like six weeks old and Josie was 20 months.  What was I insane?  Here’s what I did…

p1242089129-4

Desantiphoto_150603_kate-34-Edit-Edit-2 (1)

Then I did it again with a country bedroom when Grace was like six months old and Josie was two.  Here’s what I did…

img_9572

 

Now, Grace is a year and Josie is 2.5, this should be no problem comparatively.  But, for whatever reason, I feel more tired.  Why is that, people? Everybody told me this mothering stuff gets easier with time.

Well, no one ever says The One Room Challenge gets easier.  So like a fool, I’m going in, fully aware of the stress to transform my daughters’ closet in six weeks time from start to finish.

I have gained wisdom with experience.  It’s a much smaller project than my past challenges.  And, my God do I love designing small spaces.  You have to be so exact and deliberate with every choice…some of which will be bold and oh so fun.  I hope you stick around!

Here is the closet in it’s current state…

IMG_5975

IMG_5976

It’s attached to my oldest daughter’s bedroom; here are some pictures of her room from my Instagram to give you an idea of the style.

IMG_5071 (2)

IMG_4966

Next week, I’ll be sharing my plan. And for those of you new to the One Room Challenge it was created by Linda of Calling It Home.  Anyone with a blog can join and the challenge is that you have six weeks to decorate a space from start to finish.  See what others are doing here.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Children’s Book Nooks Tablescaping in an Apple Orchard

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nancy @ Slightly Coastal  |  October 8, 2015 at 8:18 AM

    I can’t wait to see what you do! Her bedroom looks adorable. I love your previous challenges so I think this one will be great too. I’m tackling our master bathroom (insane?). Who told you mothering gets easier over time? I have a soon to be 14 year old and a 3 year old. True, the sleepless nights from getting up with kids for various reasons ends…but you’ll have sleepless nights worrying over grades, friends etc… A more accurate statement is motherhood changes over time. It is all so good though…enjoy each phase. That’s what life is all about…take in the scenery. Sorry I just got all philosophical up in here. 🙂 The closet is going to be awesome!

    Reply
  • 2. christinedovey  |  October 8, 2015 at 8:59 AM

    I adore adore your style and what you did in the previous two ORCs…so excited to follow you along on this. What could be more fun than a little girls’ closet!?!?

    Reply
  • 3. Lauren Nelson  |  October 8, 2015 at 9:00 AM

    Cute!! Look forward to following along!!

    Reply
  • 4. Jessica  |  October 8, 2015 at 11:28 AM

    What a pretty little space. Your home looks like it came out of a magazine! love it!

    Reply
  • 5. Fran  |  October 8, 2015 at 2:31 PM

    Kate, that closet is so adorable!! That window!! So stinkin’ cute! Wow, that is every child’s dream to have a little hideaway like that! I can’t wait to watch what you do – you have such original and creative ideas!! I love both your daughter’s rooms!! And, thanks for your support, comment, etc. – made my day! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Kelly R. - Interiors For Families  |  October 9, 2015 at 4:40 AM

    That pool house is fabulous! Looking forward to seeing your plans for the closet. Oh, btw – I feel you on the “more tired” phenomenon (I have a 14 month-old and a 4 yo, both boys). It’s very real. I think it is a combination of working too much and just plain getting old :(.

    Reply
  • 7. Hollie Cooper  |  October 11, 2015 at 1:00 PM

    I love that you are doing your daughters closet & your past ORC rooms were so fab. I’ve joined in this time too. I be following along.

    Reply
  • 8. Holly  |  October 12, 2015 at 11:26 AM

    Oh, I love your daughter’s bedroom & can’t wait to see what you do with the closet! I’m a new follower of yours on Instagram, and really enjoy your account. I’m participating in my first ORC, & am glad to know you have survived it with two little ones. My youngest is 14 months, & I don’t feel any less tired than I did when she was an infant. Thank goodness for coffee! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 362 other followers


