The New Site & My Old Place

April 3, 2012 at 9:23 AM 14 comments

Finally, I have updated my website and portfolio.  That only took me a year to figure it out and to update it!!  I’m not the best with techy stuff but I used Weebly and it really made things a lot easier.  If you get a chance, I’d love you to click on the “home” above and that will direct you to my new design website.  You can click on Portfolio, which will have a drop down bar and that will show some of my projects.

Luckily, by about May, I should have more projects photographed and up on the site.  In the meantime, I thought I’d highlight my previous apartment, which is shown in its entirety on my new portfolio page.

I never did get around to showing you the professionals so now here they are…

Front hallway with my most beloved Strut Console table, Madeline Weinrib runner and the Anthropologie dog print and a wooden carved shark that I brought back from a South Africa trip. On the opposite side of the hallway was a little carve out which used to hold a phone.  I used that as a spot for our keys, a little picture of our ranch and two monk bells I got at a boutique in Chicago.

Off of the front hallway was our bedroom – We had the e-bay faux bamboo headboard, JuJu hat that I carried back from South Africa trip, an embroidered dec. pillow I brought back from Turkey, a West Elm Parsons desk as a side table and my Dorothy Draper chest as the other side table…

Back down the hallway, the apartment opened up to our dining room.  The dining room consisted of a wood table purchased at a boutique in Chicago, white faux bamboo dining chairs found in separate pairs on Craigslist, painting brought back from a South Africa trip, old truck wheel parts found at Alemeda Flea Market, a grey console from Ikea, and a charcoal rug with a greek key motif bought at a local design shop.  In the bay window of the dining room, I put my Craigslist settee with two pillows that I made.  In the left hand corner of the dining room, I had a black and gold chest that I found at an antique store in Aptos, some bird prints in Pottery Barn Frames and two adorable Dalmatian book ends which were a gift.

Off of the dining room was the living room.  The living room was a pretty small space.  My favorite piece and hugest craigslist score is the madeline weinrib rug.  Up against the bay window, we had our blue Jonathan Adler sofa and then off to the side were a pair of Pottery Barn club chairs and a beautiful garden stool from Gumps that was a gift; the lucite coffee table is from CB2.  On one side of the built in closet was some shelving and I put my Craigslist find Campaign Chest underneath that with the beautiful flower print from Julia Lynn.  On the other side, I put an Ikea bookshelf which we repainted and my dad’s paper mache cow head and a gorgeous painting from Irene Wood.  The leaf chandelier was another Aptos antique store find.

There you have it.  The apartment was very tiny, under 1,000 square feet.  I am proud of this place though because I was working with a minuscule budget.  It took a lot of Craigslist searching, flea market scouting and antique shop perusing to pull it together.  My one and only full price splurge was the Blue Dot Watermelon Console table which is an absolute favorite piece of mine.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Currently Loving: Annabel Grey Fabrics Egg Swing Chair

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Britt Fumia  |  April 3, 2012 at 9:56 AM

    Gorgeous!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Allie  |  April 3, 2012 at 9:59 AM

    Gorgeous photos of your old apartment, Kate! They really show off your eye. You’ll have to teach me what you know about web design, also : )

    Reply
  • 3. bridget  |  April 3, 2012 at 11:49 AM

    these photos look great! you have a lot of great furniture pieces. you have to let me in on your secret favorite spots for antique furniture. 🙂 i am trying to find a few perfect things for the remodel.

    Reply
  • 4. Beatrice  |  April 3, 2012 at 2:31 PM

    Can’t wait to see pictures of your new apartment. The old one looked so wonderful. I’m going to leave my computer and go de-clutter.

    Reply
  • 5. dmm  |  April 3, 2012 at 3:55 PM

    You should be Very Proud. . . your past flat is wonderful, fresh, high and low, old and new w/ just enough Traditional to make the more contemporary pieces “sing”. That you have chosen to be a designer is no accident; you’ve got the eye to make it all work. . . keep going and keep sharing your talents w/ us!

    Reply
  • 6. The Vintique Object  |  April 3, 2012 at 6:36 PM

    Love, love, love your style, Kate. Great mix, so fresh, so fun!
    Camille

    Reply
  • 7. mydesignchic  |  April 3, 2012 at 9:06 PM

    It is wonderful…such attention to detail in every space. Adore the console table!!

    Reply
  • 8. Anna  |  April 3, 2012 at 9:39 PM

    Kate, I love these photos. You are so incredibly talented! Your apartment was beautiful and I am sure your new digs are just as stunning. I cannot wait to see them.

    xox Anna

    Reply
  • 9. Erin  |  April 3, 2012 at 10:18 PM

    Beautiful Kate! What a wonderful place to call home. Absolutely love your style and talent.

    Reply
  • 10. Ashley  |  April 4, 2012 at 3:51 PM

    It’s all so fresh and light, I love it! Will you be sharing photos of your new place with us, Kate? I bet it’s fantastic, too!

    Reply
  • 11. Laura Trevey  |  May 6, 2012 at 7:02 AM

    Everything is in the RIGHT place, fabulous!!

    Reply
  • 12. Wet Toes Photos  |  July 27, 2012 at 2:36 PM

    Could you tell me where that great pink table is from? Please! :O)

    Reply
  • […] the first image above on Pinterest.  Kate Collins’ incredible photographs of her old apartment completely reignited my interest in the Strut I had all but forgotten about.  I think I might […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors\' designed gift...

Join 363 other subscribers