NYC & What I Wore…

October 27, 2011 at 7:17 AM 13 comments

We had a fabulous time in NYC and Chicago, but it is good to be back home.  I definitely feel silly writing this post on “what I wore” but I actually documented everything and I only had a small carry on for the week.  Graham insisted that I not over pack this trip and I was up for the challenge.  So here’s how I mixed and matched it.

For the record, obviously I’m in no way a fashion blogger.  I can name so many friends that have jaw dropping, out of this world fashion sense…and some even have fabulous blogs (read them – they’ll change your life) Katie & Regan (Cardigans and Couture) and Elisabeth (Mission: Closet).  I’m putting myself out there with this post but I figure why not.

What I wore…

Thursday night dinner –

Striped cape: H&M, black dress: Mary Meyer, black leggings: Forever 21, boots: Tory Burch, earrings: awesome gift from MIL, Ring: Cost Plus World Market

Friday out shopping –

Cape: Eel and Ermine, necklace: Talbots, black top: H&M, black leggings: Forever 21, boots: Tory Burch, ring: Cost Plus World Market

Friday night out…

Shorts: Top Shop, Tank: Gap, Jacket: , Shoes: Bettye Mueller

Saturday to the daytime wedding portion…


Dress: Eel and Ermine, faux fur shawl: Karen Millen, cuff off the street of NYC

Saturday nighttime wedding reception…

Dress – Castle Starr, shoes Bettye Muller (I also ended up adding maroon tights that matched my shoes) jewelry off the street.

Here you can see it with the tights…

BTW, I convinced Lauren that she had to have that camel coat from Ted Baker – doesn’t she look fab in it?!!

Sunday walking around town:

Shorts: Top Shop, Shoes: Tory Burch, Tights: Spanx in maroon, Top: H&M, Cape: Eel and Ermine, Necklace: Talbots

Monday shopping for clients

Leggings: Forever 21, Dress: Mary Meyer, White top: Splendid, Purple Vest: Laurie B.  boots: Tory Burch

Monday night dinner in Chicago

Leggings: Forever 21, Top: H&M, Striped Cape: H&M, Boots: Tory Burch, Earings off the street of NYC

Tuesday client meeting, shopping in Chicago

Jeans: J.Crew, alligator Belt: Thrifted, gingham button down: Madewell, metallic suede jacket: D2K

And there you have it.  What I wore last week.  I won’t be doing this type of a post again; I just thought I’d give it a little spin while I traveled with a small duffel bag for a week (shown below).  BTW, the majority of what I wear either comes from cheap stores (ahem H&M), consignment stores (Goodbyes in SF or Second Time Around in Chicago) or small businesses – (Mary Meyer, Eel and Ermine)

The bag is an absolute love of mine.  It was a gift given to my dad from Corde Valle, a golf club he belonged to.  About a year after he passed, I found it dusty and forgotten in the garage.  I brought it home (after asking mom if I could keep it), dusted it off and use it all the time.  Although he is always on my mind and in my heart, it is nice to have a physical piece that belonged to my dad.

Now, I think we’re all thinking the same thing – get home and wash your clothes!  Don’t worry, I’m on top of it.  Leggings and shoes are taking a breather from the rotation.


Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Store Visit: C. Wonder Welcome to the World

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  October 27, 2011 at 7:22 AM

    Kate, your outfits are sooooo cute!!!! Love them!!!! Every one of them. I’m so jealous that you can wear those shorts and make them look so darling. I could not pull them off. And seeing that picture of you and Lauren pretty much made my week. I kind of died. Love your blog and you! XOXO

    Reply
  • 2. Jaclyn  |  October 27, 2011 at 7:40 AM

    Darling! I love, love the wedding night dress! So glad I got to see you and Graham.. miss you both so much. I will start planning a trip to San Fran very soon!<3

    Reply
  • 3. regan  |  October 27, 2011 at 8:01 AM

    Kate you look fantastic in all of your outfits. You are a total fashionista and don’t give yourself enough credit! Well done!

    Reply
  • 4. dmm  |  October 27, 2011 at 8:26 AM

    kate, you ARE a fashionista!. . . so glad you shared your travel togs w/ us. my fav is the castle star dress you wore for the night time reception; and the maroon tights added just the right vibe; and love the bettye muller shoes. oh. my. loved seeing all the outfits, promise you’ll do it again!

    Reply
  • 5. Katy  |  October 27, 2011 at 9:25 AM

    Great work Kate! You took that challenge and owned it. Tons of mix and match, but if you hadn’t have pointed it out, I would have thought each outfit was new! LOVE the fur cape for daytime wedding. Will be borrowing!

    Reply
  • 6. Allie  |  October 27, 2011 at 11:23 AM

    Thouroughly impressed Kate! I on the other hand, came home with TWO tumi suitcases. My sequined hat is off to you cousin! Well done…

    Reply
  • 7. julie  |  October 27, 2011 at 12:24 PM

    Thoroughly enjoyed this! Love love LOVE your style – think I might run out to H&M to find a cape.

    Reply
  • 8. Beatrice  |  October 27, 2011 at 7:11 PM

    Thank you so much for sharing all of those beautiful clothes (I went out and bought some tights after your fashion show). I feel as though I have been on an extended weekend with just a little black bag and seven gorgeous outfits endlessly coming out of nowhere like the sorcerer and his apprentice!

    Reply
  • 9. Vendredi Heureux! « Courcy Inspired Design  |  October 28, 2011 at 4:16 AM

    […] out this great post at KC Interiors about what Kate wore on a recent trip to NYC. You will love Kate’s style as much as I […]

    Reply
  • 10. Jani  |  October 28, 2011 at 7:39 AM

    Love all of your outfits! You were definitely NYC chic! 🙂

    -Jani
    http://www.funfashionfit.com
    http://www.foottraffic.com

    Reply
  • 11. The Vintique Object  |  October 28, 2011 at 5:02 PM

    That cape is so fun! You are totally adorable AND stylish. (Can I get lessons?)

    Looks like you had such a fun time in NYC — I need a shot of kelly green somewhere in my life after seeing the great shots of that store.
    Camille

    Reply
  • 12. Elisabeth  |  November 1, 2011 at 10:18 PM

    I LOVE all of these looks. Please fashion blog a little more often. And I have that same poncho-sweater thing from h&M! xo

    Reply
  • 13. Blue Hydrangea  |  November 4, 2011 at 7:08 PM

    OMG, so cute!! And your striped cape is my favorite!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


