Come to Mama

August 19, 2010 at 5:47 AM 10 comments

Oh boy, oh boy!!  I did it!  I pulled the trigger on a pair of Jonathan Adler lamps that were for sale on Craigslist.  When I first spied them a week ago, I couldn’t stop saying, “Hello, sir.”  Here are the gentlemen…

The lamps have the perfect amount of manliness to keep my husband from feeling underwhelmed by a sea of coral, orange and chartreuse colors in our new place.  They have the most insane amount of style and intrigue to keep me happy.  And who knows, maybe I’ll recover the shade in coral.  Kidding…I think.

When I first spied these bad boys on Craigslist the owner was asking $300 for the pair; he paid $790.oo for them.  So $300 is a steal.  But, have I mentioned that we are broke?  Business school swept away our happy little nest egg.  So $300 is too steep for me.

Oooh but the top stitched crocodile, the pristine white porcelain, the charcoal linen shade .  I knew they would have such a happy home in San Francisco.  I decided to pay them a little Craigslist visit the other day to see if perhaps they weren’t all that.  Oh but they were and the lovely, wonderful, gracious seller was willing to go $250.

Are you insane?!  $250.  Pretty please!  I wanted to put my high school running days to some much needed use and sprint to the closest ATM.  But the wife in me knew I had a husband to discuss this with.  So home I trekked with a speech prepared.  My husband took one look at the photo of them and he loved them…by loved them, I mean he gave me a “yeah, their nice” in a monotone voice.  Hey, good enough for me!

Yesterday, I trekked back down to West Village and swept up two of the most gorgeous lamps this little one has ever owned!  Look how happy I am!

Side story – he also had TWO Madeline Weinrib rugs and is considering selling me one.  At the right price, this could be a tough one to turn down.  But the wife side is telling me, “stay strong, woman…in due time, you’ll own a Madeline Weinrib rug”…yes, this is how I talk to myself.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Storage House Happy Friday

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jaclyn  |  August 19, 2010 at 7:33 AM

    lucky you! this post made me laugh because I could hear Graham’s voice saying “yea, there nice” haha.

    You inspired me to start looking on Craigslist to furnish my apt.

    Lets make date next week!

    Reply
    • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  August 20, 2010 at 9:19 AM

      Ha ha! New York Craigslist is the best. I’d love to peruse it with you. have fun in So Cal!

      Reply
  • 3. debby manning  |  August 19, 2010 at 7:34 AM

    katy, the lamps are beyond(way beyond) stunning and i am so glad you went ahead and purchased them. . . i am old now, but oh, i wish i had ‘followed my heart’ w/ sooo many beautiful things when i was young!! we have a friend (friends) in common. . . my dearest college friend(s) are The Twins; yes, katy worthing’s mother, peg and her twin sister, carmen!! she is the one who recommended your site and i’m happy she did. your thoughts and design sense and commentary are lovely! enough for now, but please KNOW you did the right thing, the BEST thing buying the lamps. best, debby

    Reply
    • 4. katecollinsinteriors  |  August 20, 2010 at 9:20 AM

      Hi Debby,

      So great to “meet you.” I’m thrilled the twins told you about my blog and that you love it! It means so much to me. Thank you for supporting my lamps purchase. I am loving them!

      Reply
  • 5. Katy  |  August 19, 2010 at 9:31 AM

    1. LOVE seeing your photo on the blog. You’re so happy!!

    2. I agree with Jaclyn, I’ve heard Graham use that voice…your new necklace, the 3 bottles of Cristalino we needed that day, my new/used white jean jacket, your radical Urban Outfitters shades. At least he’s consistent.

    3. AWESOME purchase. Those are really cool and you got them for 70% off. I hope that he’s thinking in business school terms and he realizes that you found an undervalued asset and made a brilliant purchase.

    Reply
    • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  August 20, 2010 at 9:21 AM

      1. Yeah! I was so happy.

      2. Ha ha ha ha ha ha!

      3. Thank you!! I love them! It makes wonderful financial sense.

      Reply
  • 7. Beatrice  |  August 19, 2010 at 11:07 AM

    Way to go Kate!!!! The lamps are awesome. Have you seen the Trina Turk throw pillows? They would look very nice on a white sofa with those lamps on either side.

    Reply
    • 8. katecollinsinteriors  |  August 20, 2010 at 9:22 AM

      Thank you! Oh my gosh…they would look fabulous with a white sofa and the Trink Turk throw pillows. Now I have to reupholster my couch. This is turning into some very expensive lamps. 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. Lauren  |  August 19, 2010 at 11:24 AM

    you seriously crack me up! the title of the blog was enough to crack me up. And your happy little face with your new purchase! priceless!

    Reply
    • 10. katecollinsinteriors  |  August 20, 2010 at 9:22 AM

      Ha ha! Good, I’m glad you get a little chuckle in the morning. Hopefully we can catch up soon!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


