2014: Simplify

January 8, 2014 at 5:43 AM 2 comments

Now, that I’ve looked back, it’s time to look forward.  For me, 2014, is the year to simplify.

I’ve actually already begun to work on this.  I have had a bit of a Jerry McGuire moment – where I’ve decided to lessen my client load.  Kate Collins Interiors is not taking on any new clients at this time.  I’m working side by side with the clients that I’ve been working with months or even years now and we have a great rapport.  I’m taking on less so when I’m in work mode, I’m fully there and not scatter brained thinking of 1 million projects at once.  I want to continue to give the best service that I can possibly give.  It was a tough decision and believe me it’s hard saying no to projects but being very selective makes the time I have for work really enjoyable.

From a blog perspective, I’d like to take the time to backtrack and photograph projects that I’ve completed but I have never shared.  There are actually a lot of projects out there.  I’m a terrible photographer and so I shy away from sharing photos.  But, I want to let you see more of my work and to provide more original content on the blog.

I’m also taking on less to be there with Josie.  BUT, I don’t want to take on less so that I can spend more time on Instagram or reading e-mails.  I really want to challenge myself to simplify and to be present.  To put down the phone.  To keep the TV off.  To watch Josie discover new things many times over throughout the day.

I also want to get more involved with my mom’s groups and activities for Josie, which I guess doesn’t fall under the simplify category but I think it will bring another level of enrichment to both of our lives.

In a nutshell, I’m pairing down in 2014.  I’m taking the time to really dig in deep with select clients; I’m taking the time to smell the flowers with a joyous soon to be toddler; I’m taking the time to bring the best content that I can produce for the blog.

Here’s to a great year ahead!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Looking back at 2013 In Memory

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ashley  |  January 8, 2014 at 8:57 AM

    I love this. So true for all of us. And what a blessing to be able to have that existing client base (and be in high-demand) to be able to be choosy!

    Reply
  • 2. Glynnis Belchers  |  January 8, 2014 at 12:18 PM

    Enjoy every breath!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors\' designed gift...

Join 363 other subscribers