Looking back at 2013

January 7, 2014 at 5:29 AM 4 comments

Happy New Year!  It’s the time to start fresh and set goals for the new year coming up.  But before I look ahead, I’d like to spend some time looking to the past year.

Last year’s goal was to work on letting go of my anxiety, you can read about it here.

” I want to stop looking forward in nervous anticipation for bumps but rather soak in the present and trust that things will work out.  I know to truly accomplish these goals will take a lot of emotional work and dedication to positivity. “

I’m proud to say that I met my goal.  This past year was by far and away one of the best years of my life.  I owe so much of this joy to the arrival of our sweet Josephine Audrey…

img_1549

A cherished friend and one of my favorite people recently wrote to me, “you look so happy.  Like this is what you’ve been waiting for all along.”  She summed it up perfectly.  Being a mother is truly what I’ve been waiting for. It fulfills me; it challenges me; and it makes my heart explode each and every day.

This past year has been one of comfort.  Josie and I are in a routine.  Most days, I’m there from the moment she makes her first morning coos; through the day of visits to the park and grocery store; to the evening bath and bedtime routine.  To some, that probably sounds mundane.  But to me, it’s been comforting and joyous.  I have embraced the simplicity of it all.

IMG_9867

Slowly but surely, I’ve worked on letting go of that anxious grip that was so afraid of the future.  Now, when I think of the future, I think of Josie and all the sweet growing she has ahead.  I think of her walking and talking and observing her sweet personality as it comes forward.

Last year, I said that I still hadn’t come to terms with the infertility and I was feeling bitter about it all.  But, I’m now able to see the blessing in my journey for a child.  At the end of the day, even if it’s a day with lots of grumpiness or tears from my little one, I am overwhelmed with gratitude that she is here.  I look at her life as miraculous and my role as a mother, finally arriving to where I want to be, as the hugest gift I have ever received.  I am grateful for a truly awesome 2013.

IMG_0113

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My Holiday Decorations 2014: Simplify

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ashley  |  January 7, 2014 at 10:03 AM

    What a memorable year! I hope that 2014 proves to be even better–and give you even more special memories–for you, Graham and Josie.

    Reply
  • 2. Janet  |  January 7, 2014 at 11:19 AM

    Ohhhhh my goodness that face. Josie is precious. Her eyes are amazing. So fun to see and read about your joy Kate. All the best in 2014!

    Reply
  • 3. Glynnis Belchers  |  January 7, 2014 at 12:34 PM

    She is quite beautiful and I am so glad that you have discovered such joy and peace.

    Reply
  • 4. gene orourke  |  January 8, 2014 at 10:46 AM

    Beautifully and truly expressed. I’ll tip a cup of kindness for Josie, Graham and you. You are on a roll and it’s only going to get better. Hope you can stand it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


