Black and White Kitchen Floors

April 28, 2010 at 7:17 AM 11 comments

I have a friend who is putting in black and white checkered laminate flooring to her kitchen.  First of all, fantastic choice!  Graham and I have black and white flooring in our current kitchen and we love it.  The only issue with our floor is that the laminate is very old and it is coming up in parts.  I guess that’s part of the “charm” of renting a brownstone with “character.”  When we own a place one day, Graham and I both want the black and white checkerboard flooring – it is so classic.

My friend is picking out a paint color for the kitchen to go with her new floors.  I believe she has chosen a soft yellow, which is a great choice.  You can never go wrong with a soft yellow in the kitchen.  Plus, the beauty of black and white is that it goes with all colors.  For my future dream kitchen, I think I would maybe do crisp white walls and then put in kelly green or colonial red for accent colors.

Here are some rooms for inspiration…

(My personal favorite – I love the butcher block)

Check out the red apple painting!

Hope this helps to inspire paint choices.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

And I’m Crushing Modern Family: Let’s Play House

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kit Gallagher  |  April 28, 2010 at 8:40 AM

    Kate, I love Black and White floors. Your favorite is my favorite also. very classy.
    I have a John Boos butcher bock. I love it and would never want to ever give it up.
    Great looking Kitchens!

    Reply
    • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 28, 2010 at 10:17 AM

      They are fantastic. I love the John Boos butcher block. You are lucky to have one.

      Reply
  • 3. mom  |  April 28, 2010 at 8:53 AM

    Kate, I love your first choice. Naturl wood and black also works as in the Bernice house. I will give you a call this afternoon. I am home.

    Reply
    • 4. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 28, 2010 at 10:17 AM

      I know Bernice’s house is still my all time favorite kitchen!

      Reply
  • 5. Shannon  |  April 28, 2010 at 9:09 AM

    Kate – I absolutely love the photos, I can’t wait to see what it looks like when they go in. We are having samples delivered tomorrow of the Armstrong ebony black and white checkerboard!!Paint went up last week! It is a very honey yellow but it’s perfect! We also went a tad bold and did Promagranite in the dining room! It looks awesome! Thanks for the inspiration, you are the best!!

    Reply
    • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 28, 2010 at 10:19 AM

      That is so exciting! Our dining room in our current dining room is a bold red and we love it. I’m sure the pomegranate looks amazing. I can’t wait to see it. I owe you an e-mail – it’s coming your way.

      Reply
  • 7. Glynnis  |  April 28, 2010 at 11:28 AM

    I love these kitchens.

    Reply
    • 8. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 28, 2010 at 2:19 PM

      They are fantastic. I can’t wait to see your finished kitchen. Hope it is all coming along smoothly.

      Reply
  • 9. Making a space a home. | Nibs, Nabs, Knots  |  June 9, 2011 at 11:24 AM

    […] (via kcinteriors) […]

    Reply
  • 10. marcia williams  |  September 26, 2011 at 12:07 PM

    hi –i just happened onto your sight. i am looking for b/w kitchen flooring. can you tell me the products in your pics? i love all the floors. i am looking for a 12×12 square, would like to lay it on the diagonal. thanks, marcia in tennessee

    Reply
  • 11. Joan Shannon  |  June 13, 2012 at 9:09 PM

    Hello Kate, I’m a neighbor living on the peninnsula in the Los Altos Hills area. My home is a CA Ranch Style, circa 1946 original. I am making small modifications to the kitchen and would appreciate knowing what was used on the countertops in the photo of the kitchen w/butcher block, under the title heading Classic Black & White Checkerboard Flooring? Thanks eversomuch. Joan

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors\' designed gift...

Join 363 other subscribers