Master Bedroom Reveal: One Room Challenge

November 15, 2017 at 11:23 PM 18 comments

Another One Room Challenge is in the books and I’m excited to share my final pictures with you.  I’m feeling proud of our Master bedroom;  I wanted something quiet, pretty and different from when this was my parent’s room.

Collins

It’s a big change from before we moved in

bedroom

The biggest impact pieces came with new lampshades, bedding and stylizing the bookshelves.

Collins_3

I had the lampshades custom made by Lisa of Cruel Mountain, using a silk ikat fabric I found off of ETSY.  Lisa was a dream to work with and I’m so happy with the final product.

Collins_9

To the side of each lamp, I hung paintings of ancestors of mine from the 1700’s.

Collins_6

Collins_32

The duvet and euros are custom made from the Colefax and Fowler Bowood pattern.  That fabric has been a longtime favorite of mine and Im so happy to see it every single day.

Collins_14

I paired the bowood with Matouk scalloped lanai coverlet and two standard shams.  I love that the pink edging ties in the lampshades and brings in another element of softness with the scallops.  I die for scallops! Then, I went with one lumbar in Sister Parish Burmese pink fabric that I had left over from this ORC.  I mixed cream and white throughout the room.

Collins_15

I have to be honest that I almost just asked my photographer to photoshop out the bookshelves and left them the disheveled mess that they were.  The extra week of the challenge gave me the boost to actually get them styled.  It’s nice waking up to organized shelves instead of piles of mess.

Collins_12

The basket holds diapers and wipes for Rowan but the rest is just there for me to look at.  I have my favorite decor books, framed photos of the kids, portraits by Paul Ferney, and well loved books from childhood.

Collins_5

The side of the room that is opposite the bed has my bone inlay dresser.  I changed out the hardware and added a little tassel.

Collins_16

Collins_18

On top of the dress is a small, delicate lamp I found at an antique store in San Mateo just after I had moved out of San Francisco and I was missing the antique shops of the city.  That little giraffe print was a gift from my mom when I was pregnant with Josie.  I was overwhelmed with gratitude to finally be pregnant.  I love looking at it now to remember what a struggle it was to get Josie and how incredibly lucky I am to have three children.  The little gold mirror was an antique shop find.

Collins_23

Next to the dresser is a favorite painting of mine that reminds me of my dad.  I really loved the artist Sally Robertson and my dad surprised me one Christmas with a painting by her.  My dad was a huge art collector and I like to think he passed that passion down to all of us kids.  I think he’d love to have art trigger his memory.

Collins_17

As you walk through the vestibule, it sets the tone for the bedroom with the Sister Parish Burmese wallpaper.  I’m so happy with how it plays with the bowood.  And I love Angela Chrusiaki Blehm’s stunning art work and how the modern juxtaposes the traditional. (Check out Angela’s amazing One Room Challenge, here) With the ceiling papered in the vestibule, it feels like a jewel box.

FullSizeRender (18)

Guess what?  I have a secret extra look for you!  I’ve been holding out on you.  In the summer, this room gets crazy, miserable hot.  So, naturally, I saw it as an excuse to buy more bedding.  I found a vintage suzani at vegas market and I fell in love with this deep fuschia color in it.

Collins_24

So, I present to you the summer master bedroom look….

Collins_26.jpg

Collins_29

Completing this room has been a labor of love for myself.  For the past almost five years, I’ve put my family first, which is not meant to be a complaint but rather a fact.  I know that’s the stage of life I’m in with young children and I chose to be here.  But, it does mean that I feel accomplished if I brush my teeth AND my hair.  Therefor, it was so nice to work on a room just for my husband and me.  Something quiet, personal and totally unkid friendly.  It feels like a much needed gift to myself and I’m really happy with it.

Collins_21

I have been thinking this will be my last One Room Challenge as I evolve and let things run their course.  But, never say never.  The challenge holds a very special place in my heart and Josie very sweetly has said to me, daily, “Mom, can my bedroom be the next One Room Challenge? I want it to be pink”  When a four year old utters the complete phrase “one room challenge,” it’s pretty irresistible.

Collins_31

So, you never know, I may just be back in the spring.  Plus, how could I possibly turn down another pink room?

Collins_30

Until then, the talent abounds over at Linda’s hompage, Calling It Home, check out the other participants here.  And thank you so much for reading!!

Collins_2

And a huge thank you to Tiffany Zabala for the beautiful photos!

Black-250x250-transparent

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Highs and Lows: ORC Week 5

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Graham Belchers  |  November 15, 2017 at 11:33 PM

    You nailed it!

    On Wed, Nov 15, 2017 at 9:23 PM Kate Collins Interiors wrote:

    > katecollinsinteriors posted: “Another One Room Challenge is in the books > and I’m excited to share my final pictures with you. I’m feeling proud of > our Master bedroom; I wanted something quiet, pretty and different from > when this was my parent’s room. It’s a big change from before” >

    Reply
  • 2. Nomadic Decorator  |  November 16, 2017 at 12:50 AM

    That suzani is everything!! The space is so beautiful!

    Reply
  • 4. Joe Imwalle  |  November 16, 2017 at 8:36 AM

    Treat yo’self!

    Reply
    • 5. katecollinsinteriors  |  November 16, 2017 at 1:08 PM

      Damn straight brother man! Can’t wait to treat ourselves in Mexico! Remember how much fun it was the last Thanksgiving with Chris Wolf?

      Reply
  • 6. lauraingallsgunn  |  November 16, 2017 at 8:36 AM

    Oh that duvet is a dream! What an amazing transformation. This has been such an inspiring round of the ORC. I really appreciated the extra week.
    May you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    Reply
    • 7. katecollinsinteriors  |  November 16, 2017 at 1:07 PM

      THank you so much! I can’t wait to go check out your work! It has been an inspiring round!

      Reply
  • 8. Sissy Schoettelkotte  |  November 16, 2017 at 9:23 AM

    Beautiful!! I love every detail!! And I have some pillows made out of a similar suzani and love them!!

    Reply
    • 9. katecollinsinteriors  |  November 16, 2017 at 1:06 PM

      Thank you so much, Sissy! Love that we have matching suzani’s in our homes as you are one of my favorites!! Always have been!

      Reply
  • 10. Madeline  |  November 16, 2017 at 10:54 AM

    Well done! You definitely deserve a space for yourself.

    Reply
    • 11. katecollinsinteriors  |  November 16, 2017 at 1:06 PM

      THank you so much! Can’t wait to go check out your beautiful space!

      Reply
  • 12. lorenadive  |  November 16, 2017 at 12:51 PM

    I love the room so much and the stories behind everything even more. The decor looks intentional, but also so down to earth and like normal person lives there (lol), which is quite the rarity in these days of super curated lifestyle/design blogs (hope that came across as a big compliment!). As always, I’ve enjoyed following along via IG and can’t wait for the next one!

    Reply
    • 13. katecollinsinteriors  |  November 16, 2017 at 1:05 PM

      Thank you so much! That came across as a compliment – a huge one in fact as that is exactly what I was striving for. I really believe in the personal for my home and the homes I work on for clients. Your comment truly made my day. Thank you so much for reading and letting me know that. And thank you for following me on IG.

      Reply
  • 14. Susan Gatto  |  November 16, 2017 at 1:31 PM

    Kate – I just love your bedroom. It has been awhile since I have been at your home but I always loved it. All your favorite things that are happy memories make it so warm and special.

    Reply
  • 15. Kat Calavera  |  November 16, 2017 at 5:17 PM

    So flirty and cottage, and yet what a sense of history! It looks like a totally different room from before. Way to make the space personal but also honor your family’s story. Happy successful ORC!

    Reply
  • 16. karen wortham  |  November 16, 2017 at 9:21 PM

    So beautiful Kate. Once I spotted that Boxwood fabric and Sister Parrish in an earlier post, I made a point of checking each week. You didn’t disappoint! The room comes across as fresh and pretty and like a special, personal space.

    Reply
  • 17. Mary Karen  |  November 18, 2017 at 10:59 AM

    What a special talent to create such a multi-textured, fresh & inviting space and at the same time incorporate family treasures. Am delighted to have seen this gorgeous transformation in person at which time those dreamy silk ikat shades stunned and the delicious boxwood duvet & euro pillows beckoned with the promise of a lovely lie down surrounded by treats for the eye at every turn!

    Reply
  • 18. Anna  |  November 19, 2017 at 11:08 PM

    Kate this is so beautiful! You always amaze me. I can’t wait to see it in person someday!!

    >

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors\' designed gift...

Join 363 other subscribers