Bridget Saves the Day

September 22, 2011 at 8:27 AM 10 comments

Tonight I’ll be attending a large party for the company that I work for.  It promises to be an affair to remember.  All of my coworkers had been saying to me throughout the day, yesterday, “you know we have to dress up?”  I kept thinking they meant cocktail attire and I was really starting to wonder if they lacked total faith in me, that I couldn’t kick up my fashion a notch and put on a little black dress.

It wasn’t until 4:30 yesterday when I found out “dress up” meant costume.  The theme is “circus;” I was told to think Mulin Rouge or Water for Elephants.  I knew we had a least another hour of work and I was well aware that not a single lion’s tamer’s pair of pants, tight roper’s leotard or fortune teller’s scarf existed in my wardrobe.  There was only one solution.  When in costume crisis always give these two a call:


My brother Joe and his wife, Bridget (dressed as Slash and Axel Rose)!  Once work was over, I couldn’t have called them faster in desperation.  I called at 5:45 and Bridget said the fabric store would close in 15 minutes that she would figure out my outfit and she had to get cracking.  With that, Bridget made a mad dash to the fabric store for tulle and feathers, my wheels were in slight motion as I waded through traffic across the bay bridge, and a costume was taking life.  By the time I had made it to Oakland, Bridget had laid out: black and white striped tights, a black leotard, little black bootie shorts, a jaguar silver necklace, a skull Alexander Mcqueen cocktail ring, a mask from New Orleans and a feather for my hair.  Imagine how I squealed with delight to see my absolutely perfect outfit.  Then, she walked me over to her sewing machine where my squeals were met with excited jumping, for I saw the most beautiful tutu in all the land getting made for me.

Stunning!!  Thank you, Bridget!!  It truly is a work of art.

And the rest of the outfit:

And because I figure I may as well add to the embarrassing photos of myself on the internet:

Oh wait, that wasn’t embarrassing enough, here you go…

Ha ha.  You’re welcome.  Now, I’m crossing my fingers that everyone does actually dress up and it won’t be a Bridget Jones bunny outfit situation.  I’m extremely lucky to have a crazy talented seamstress and incredibly fashionable sister-in-law who is always willing to share.  Thanks, Bridget!

BTW, the photos were taken at their beautiful home.  That awesome painting in the background is by Martin Machado and you can read more about it, here.  I tried to convince them to add the painting to my spoils last night but they weren’t having it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Before and After: Part 3 Savannah Sensation

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dmm  |  September 22, 2011 at 9:00 AM

    all right, that does it, may i officially become a member of the imwqlle family?????? i don’t care, cousin, in-law, out-law, great aunt, grandmother. . . what a coup; to make a call, have a seamtress on the other end, have her find the fabric, sew it, present it AND have a fabulous carpet to twirl on? are you serious?? too much wonderment; i remain awed and amazed. dmm

    Reply
    • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  September 22, 2011 at 9:15 AM

      ABSOLUTELY!! I thought you’d never ask. The Imwalle’s NEED their Aunt Deb. And now you officially get to have Bridget, the wonder woman, whip up costumes on demand…now, that’s love. Their rug is fabulous as is their entire home. I wish I had better pictures of it. Oh and I twirled. We actually took video of me twirling in my costume and falling down…not the most graceful.

      Reply
      • 3. dmm  |  September 22, 2011 at 9:36 AM

        kate, just spoke w/ john & peg and highlighted my desire to switch from wanting to be a ‘lonergan’ (the twin’s fam) to the imwalle clan and he relayed a story about your dad and how much he misses him. as i told p & j, i have met none of you and yet i feel a part of an amazing family who love and care for one another; may we ALL be so lucky. . . now, THAT’s why writing your blog is worth it. xo auntie debby

  • 4. dmm  |  September 22, 2011 at 9:02 AM

    correction; i hit the ‘q’ instead of the ‘a’ while spelling imwalle. . . . smiles, dmm (!)

    Reply
  • 5. Katy  |  September 22, 2011 at 9:53 AM

    I love the love on this page, though DMM, we still want you to be a Lonergan! I must admit, I’ve had deep desires to be an Imwalle too! Kate that costume is amazing! I’m so so impressed, Bridget deserves an award. Really cool jewels and I just love that carpet. Have a great time tonight!

    Reply
  • 6. Beatrice  |  September 22, 2011 at 11:21 AM

    You are going to be the hit of the party!!!! That is the most wonderful tutu and just think, now you’re ready for Halloween.Hmmm, what should Graham wear to be your adagio.

    Reply
  • 7. bridget  |  September 22, 2011 at 11:54 AM

    what nice words, thanks kate! it was fun helping you get ready; i never met a costume opportunity i didn’t like :). plus i learned how easy it is to make a tutu which seems like really useful information! have fun tonight, you rock those feathers like no one else. and lets both pray that video never meets the internet. not my chicest or most graceful moment either!

    Reply
  • 8. Cheryl Deegan  |  September 22, 2011 at 12:53 PM

    Love the pose Kate! You truly are your father’s daughter…… 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Cameron  |  September 23, 2011 at 9:31 AM

    You make my day!!!

    Reply
  • 10. pat  |  September 26, 2011 at 1:41 PM

    kate…just wondering why you didn’t fashion this fab look at yesterday’s gathering…great story…great costume…and hoping it was a great night…kudos to bridget…love…pat

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


