Josie’s Nursery Reveal

June 26, 2013 at 5:44 AM 8 comments

Yesterday, Josie gave me this look…

IMG_1970

You know why?  Because I haven’t shared the finished shots of the nursery yet and she finds it a bit pathetic.  So sorry, Jos – not sure why I’ve been so tardy at showing the finished look…maybe it’s caring for a baby.

This is my absolute favorite spot.  It’s where we read stories and it’s where Graham feeds Josie at night time…

Josie's-Newborn-Photos-Nicole-Paulson-Photography-10124-2-copy (3)-002

The beautiful print is near and dear to me because it’s from my amazing cousin – Julia Lynn.  The pillow is from Caitlin Wilson Design.  I snagged the elephant side table from my mom’s pool house (when she wasn’t looking) and that fun Giraffe was our first purchase for the nursery.  The giraffe was bought at a local small boutique: Lotus Bleu but they picked it up in Africa on a buying trip and so I love that Josie has some Africa in her room with her South African heritage.  The picture ledges are from Ikea and they have worked out beautifully for housing Josie’s growing book collection.  As a reminder, here was the glider before…

photo-341

It was a Craigslist steal that just needed some tender loving care…new fabric and some Lulu DK ticking tape.

Moving right along, next to the little chair and reading station, we have baskets that house Josie’s dirty clothes and her many blankets and stuffed animals.  The black out blind roman shade is an absolute favorite of mine and it really helps to keep it dark for nap time.

Josie's-Newborn-Photos-Nicole-Paulson-Photography-10120-copy

Next to the window and baskets is the closet that I changed into a changing station.  Four plus months in, I couldn’t recommend this highly enough, especially for a tight space.  It keeps everything organized and easily accessible and it works like a charm.  Josie even seems to love this spot the most.

IMG_1962

I simply removed the closet doors and put in two shelves.  The top shelf with the baskets houses Josie’s onesies, burp clothes, sleep sacks and extra diapers.  The second shelf is where I change her and there is plenty of room for necessities close to the changing pad.  Below there is her clothing rack for hanging clothes and her shoe collection (girl after mammas heart).

Next to the changing closet, is a spot for more clothes for Josie.

Josie%27s-Newborn-Photos-Nicole-Paulson-Photography-10132-copy%20%281%29

The dresser is an antique that I found at a shop in Aptos.  The monkey lamp came from a candlestick that I found at Goodwill and had converted into a lamp.  The paper dress was from this shop on ETSY and I had it custom shadowbox framed.  The little block with her name on it and the cute pink car were both awesome gifts from stylish friends.

As a reminder, here was the monkey before it was changed into a lamp…

photo-339

For the crib, I went with the tried and true Jenny Lind crib and I’m so happy that I did.  I love it!  I found all of the bedding at a resale kiddies shop and it helped to dictate the color palate of the room.  The sheep head came from a local shop and the “Snug as a Bug” came from a shop in Oakland – Nathan & Co.

IMG_1995

IMG_1981

Josie and Olive say, “thanks for reading”

PS – I’d like it to be noted that the bumper came with the crib set and we do not use it.  Also we never have stuffed animals in the crib when Josie is sleeping.  These were just for the photos.

Photos taken by Nicole Paulson and Allie Reiter

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Stand Out Stencils To You…

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dmm  |  June 26, 2013 at 6:23 AM

    Josie was right; what took so long to showcase this beautiful room? I see love and personality and gorgeous design all together and it works. . . Josie is lucky to grow in this enchanting space! My fav would have to be the framed paper dress, but the paper in the changing closet is so divine, and the trim on the glider; impossible to decide. Thank you for sharing this transformation, I am in love. dmm

    Reply
  • 2. Ashley  |  June 26, 2013 at 7:17 AM

    Josie is a smart little cookie and she just KNEW we had to see her pretty space. I love everything, honestly. The glider was totally transformed! The trim you added to the bottom hem makes it. And her antique dresser? What a beautiful piece that will travel with her throughout her life.

    I seriously loved it all…but I really expected nothing less from you, my dear!

    Reply
  • 3. bridget  |  June 26, 2013 at 9:55 AM

    olive and I both love spending time in Josie’s beautiful nursery. Her favorites spots are the changing station and the glider. She also loves trying to eat Josie’s stuffed animals. I am more into the details, like the monkey lamp (love it), the sheep’s head and the roman shade. It is a great space!

    Reply
  • 4. Glynnis Hayward  |  June 26, 2013 at 10:01 AM

    Everything is beautiful – especially Josie and Olive. (Olive looks just like Bridget, don’t you think?)

    Reply
  • 5. Erin // Clementine & Olive  |  June 26, 2013 at 10:49 AM

    Everything is so detailed and beautiful! Just the way you would design it for your first little baby 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Emily  |  July 19, 2013 at 2:10 PM

    That look is priceless! LOVE the antique dresser. Thanks for linking up!

    Reply
  • 7. the makerista  |  July 19, 2013 at 11:07 PM

    i absolutely love the dresser and the art! that flower print is beautiful and the paper dress adds a structural element to the space. that lamp is pretty killer too. 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Almost Home  |  January 31, 2014 at 3:28 PM

    Hi Kate! I came to your blog looking for nursery inspiration for my baby girl. Love Josie’s nursery–all the details are so unique and thoughtful. You are one talented lady 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors\' designed gift...

Join 363 other subscribers