Decorating a Fireplace Mantel

July 20, 2012 at 5:03 AM 2 comments

Sorry for the sporadic posting.  I’ve got quite a few projects that are finishing up and so life gets really busy at the tail end of a project.  I can’t wait to take photos and share away.  There will be a plethora of blog posts to come from them, which makes posting a lot easier. 🙂

One of the things that I am working on is accessorizing a fireplace mantel.  To be honest, I find this to be challenging to do so I’ve hit up pinterest for inspiration.

In this example three is an easy triangle that is created that allows movement for the eye.  Your eye is first attracted to the leaning painting and then from one side to the other.  I like the idea of using a succulent vs. cut flowers because they last so, so, so much longer.  When going for the layered look on a mantel, or anywhere, it’s best to work in odd numbers so either three or five objects.

If you are a collector, why not put the items on display for all to see on the mantel.  The collection of white pottery is beautiful against the three charcoal pieces.  All of the white also allows for the sconces to really stand out.

I love the look of a large reflective space in a room.  Many times you can let the mirror take center stage and keep the mantel to a minimum or bare.

When it comes to keeping the mantel completely bare, I like to go that route when a large art piece is placed above a fireplace.  I think it can speak for itself and it doesn’t need any extra accessories.

What about you?  Do you have any special tricks when accessorizing a mantel?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Baskets & Consoles Coveted

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann Williams  |  July 20, 2012 at 8:46 AM

    Love this post! I am always changing up my fireplace mantle with pieces that I have around the house and have JUST bought my 1st “real art” piece and put it up there. I LOVE the way it looks on the mantle. I thought of you when I was debating spending a good amount on this painting because you have always had such beautiful art in your apartments and on the blog! I blogged my painting 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. The Vintique Object  |  August 7, 2012 at 2:56 PM

    This is a really interesting idea because I struggled with my mantel for a few years until I decided I like it bare best of all. Off came the mid-century clock and the paintings propped up and all that stuff. Now i just have some clear glass vases with greenery and my big round mirror. So much better. Less is more, right? Well, sometimes… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors\' designed gift...

Join 363 other subscribers