Living Room Before and After

July 19, 2011 at 6:59 AM 15 comments

Today, I’m incredibly pleased to reveal a project I’ve been assisting with, across the country.  If you recall this e-design I put together last year, it’s now time for the big reveal.

Here is a before shot of how the living room was when my clients bought the place.  BEFORE they moved in….

And the AFTER…

What a change!  I helped with the base and the layout of the room and then my very talented and stylish client added in so many great and personal details.

Here is a breakdown of the room…

The colors that the client requested were purple and green – so this fab purple rug was the jumping point for the room.  I was so excited when I found the rug in her colors and in such a great geometric pattern.  I found the jax coffee table on ETSY to play up the geometric pattern in the rug.  The clients already owned these handsome leather chairs with nailhead trim.  I had sent over this Faux Antler DIY from Jenny’s blog but my client found the perfect “blue collar antler” from Z Gallerie and I adore the pop of white against the gray.  I’m not sure where she found that side table but I am sure that I’m head over heels for it!

My client came up with the perfect DIY art for above each chair.  She framed calendar paper from the two months that are very important to them (the month they got engaged and the month they got married).

Opposite the leather club chairs is a classic tufted sofa from Macy’s.

I had suggested the brass World’s Aways side table, which is a favorite of mine.

She has another personal art piece – a beautiful watercolor of their home, which was painted by her husband’s aunt.

I encouraged to put the Eames Lounge chair front and center in the room because it is such a showstopper.  My clients inherited not one but two of those chairs.  Lucky ducks!!

Opposite the Eames chair is a gorgeous fireplace.  My clients were hesitant to put the TV on the mantel and so I suggested this great Restoration Hardware easel to hold the TV instead.  This way, they could put their beautiful starburst mirror at the focus of attention.

There were more great personal touches on the mantel such as pictures of places the couple has traveled to –

The client’s mother in law found a fabulous detail for the mantel complete with their last name initial –

I love all the personal additions throughout the room which brings a loving feeling to the room.  However, what really brings love into the room is my clients cute dog, Shelby:

She’s just the perfect final touch.  Thanks for sharing all you have done with your place!  Great work!  To check out more of my client’s beautiful home, you should see her adorable blog: Ann and Pat.

Thanks for sharing Ann, Pat and Shelby.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My Cup Runneth Over Don’t Forget Land’s End

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica Emond  |  July 19, 2011 at 7:34 AM

    Love this room! So insprirational!

    Reply
  • 2. Danielle  |  July 19, 2011 at 8:11 AM

    Wow, you did such an incredible job. It looks fantastic!

    Reply
  • 3. dmm  |  July 19, 2011 at 8:43 AM

    beautiful room; so young and fresh and the grey and white adds dama; you AND ann did an amzing job; BRAVO!! my fav is the antique drawer pull w/ their “W” . . . perfect. dmm

    Reply
  • 4. Anna  |  July 19, 2011 at 9:23 AM

    Love it. Great team work there. I am also swooning over the Eames Lounge chair. That is on my wish list 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Katy  |  July 19, 2011 at 9:54 AM

    That room looks awesome! Great job all around!

    Reply
  • 6. Lauren Stradford  |  July 19, 2011 at 10:14 AM

    Wow this is amazing. I love it all! rest work Kate!

    Reply
  • 7. Jill  |  July 19, 2011 at 10:18 AM

    Absolutely gorgeous Kate! And Shelby is the perfect accessory!

    Reply
  • 8. Betsy @ Estate Eclectic  |  July 19, 2011 at 10:23 AM

    Wow, gorgeous. Seems like you had fabulous clients to work with too!

    Reply
  • 10. Ann Williams  |  July 19, 2011 at 11:31 AM

    Thank you so much for your help, Kate! We love our living room and couldn’t have made any of those major decisions without you 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Glynnis  |  July 19, 2011 at 1:25 PM

    Great! A good job well done.

    Reply
  • 12. Rebecca Hawsey Jehle  |  July 19, 2011 at 4:01 PM

    I am the aunt that painted the picture of their house! I am just thrilled to see that my painting made the cut! Ann and Pat are such wonderful people and they are both so talented and really know what they like. I have always loved working with Pat and his Mom in every new apartment, condo, townhouse and now a lovely home. Would love to meet you someday! Aunt Becky

    Reply
  • 13. Nichole @ Parlour  |  July 20, 2011 at 3:15 AM

    It turned out lovely! Diggin’ the rug!

    Reply
  • 14. Ashley  |  July 20, 2011 at 12:06 PM

    Oh my gosh, Kate, this is spectacular! I’m speechless!

    P.S. Thank you for your sweet words about my wedding photos!

    Reply
  • 15. Melissa  |  September 1, 2011 at 7:52 AM

    Love it!

    What is the name of the amazing gray paint color?! I think I need it for my entryway!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors\' designed gift...

Join 363 other subscribers