White Chairs Wood Tables

May 19, 2011 at 5:45 AM 13 comments

Well folks, we finally have chairs instead of benches for our dining room table.  I liked the benches but I had grown tired of the look and our dining room has never felt quite right to me.

 I’ll reveal the chairs once I’m done spray painting them.  Please don’t roll your eyes, but there is some faux bamboo involved.  I know.  Could I get over it already?  Apparently not.

I would have loved to tap into my inner Trina Turk obsession and painted them coral with a great brown seat cushion.  Like this adorable settee that came from her Palm Springs store and is available on LA Craigslist, here.

I would copy it to the T.  But the man around here has strong “no more pink” outbursts when I start talking paint.   And since I love him, I’ve got to refrain from pink.  I then considered the next best thing which was an orange…

Fabulous super charged color.  Graham took one look at the above photos and said, “too Halloweeny.”

For a brief second, I considered doing a turquoise.  But I felt I would tire of four turquoise chairs – although, I’d never tire of this office…

Design from Waterleaf Interiors (my friend is lucky enough to work there).  After all this hype of fun, bold, poppy colors, you may be a bit disappointed that I decided on white.  Keep in mind though spray painting is secretly the easiest thing on the planet to do so I can always change it.

There are plenty of white chairs/wood table eye candy shots out there.  Inspiration awaits…

So what do you think of the look?  Are you convinced on my white?  Or should I run back to the paint store?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Kate Spade Bedding Happy Friday

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elizabeth Goodwin  |  May 19, 2011 at 6:51 AM

    I love the white, it is classic and fresh!

    Reply
  • 2. Beatrice  |  May 19, 2011 at 8:11 AM

    Stick with the white; it goes with everything.

    Reply
  • 3. Katy  |  May 19, 2011 at 9:59 AM

    White will be great! That room has that beautiful white flower print and it will look nice with the dark wood and the dark light fixture. Can’t wait for an update!

    Reply
  • 4. Anna  |  May 19, 2011 at 10:18 AM

    I love it, I think white will be beautiful 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Maria  |  May 19, 2011 at 10:44 AM

    Love the white, Kate! The decor reminds me so much of one of NYC’s hottest restaurants…check it out. http://www.abckitchennyc.com/

    Reply
    • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 20, 2011 at 10:41 AM

      Love it!! So cute. Is that attached to my all time favorite decor store ABC?

      Reply
  • 7. Glynnis  |  May 19, 2011 at 12:12 PM

    I’m waiting to see with eager anticipation. Really glad you’ll have chairs now instead of benches. Yay! I think white will be great, although turquoise is always a winner too. Hurry up and let us see please.

    Reply
    • 8. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 20, 2011 at 10:42 AM

      I’ve working my little heart out spray painting away. Sadly, I only have two done so far. And we have such a busy weekend that I won’t be able to get to it till next week.

      Reply
  • 9. Ann Williams  |  May 19, 2011 at 2:52 PM

    Go for white! I always love white and you can make them fun with fabric cushions. My only other thought would be neutral metallic which would be gorgeous too. Love that dining room!

    Reply
    • 10. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 20, 2011 at 10:43 AM

      I thought about gold – but I got nervous on actually pulling the trigger. A metallic would be fun though!

      Reply
  • 11. dmm  |  May 19, 2011 at 5:10 PM

    Love the white and the other “pop” colors, too! your design asthetic is so fresh and young; wonderful!! i think the white will be classic and last a long time. adding color & pattern w/ the fabric on the seat cushions will work very well. . . anxious to see the final product!
    dmm

    Reply
    • 12. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 20, 2011 at 10:44 AM

      Thank you so much! You always put a smile on my face!! I’m thinking perhaps going with Hicks Il Fiorentino for the fabric in the wine/magenta pattern.

      Reply
  • 13. Screendoorgirl 3  |  November 15, 2012 at 4:58 AM

    Thanks! I’m planning to switch to cream dining chairs. Love the idea with the wood table..

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors\' designed gift...

Join 363 other subscribers