The Compromise

April 12, 2011 at 5:43 AM 10 comments

Let me guess, your husband likes all things wood, leather, and dark.  You like things linen, tufted and bright.  So perhaps not the exact things that I just described but when it comes down to it you and your husband don’t see eye to eye in decor.  I get it.

His…

Hers..

Palmer Weiss

One solution is to hire me and to let me figure out the balance.  Shameless self-promotion never hurt a business.  But if you’re more of a do it yourself type of couple, here are my tips.

1. Work in layers

This advice works for all aspects of decorating; in fact, Jenny just did a post on layering. It’s especially important for couples to work layer by layer when decorating in order meet eye to eye.  Don’t run straight to Pottery Barn, try to buy everything at once and have the afternoon end in one huge fight.  Think of layering in what the female likes and also layering in what the male likes.

For instance, you may want coral pillows, well go out and buy those pillows you covet.  Then pair those with a deer antler pillow.

Beautiful Decorative Pillow Cover - 20 x 20 Inch - Designer Fabric - Throw Pillow - Accent Pillow - Wildrose

Available here.

Cross stitch 'Striped Stag' Pillow Cover

Available here

What ends up happening is a more interesting room anyway.  For every feminine piece bring in a masculine piece.

2. Give a little, take a little.

So he really wants a leather sofa.  You can’t stand the look of them.  Well, think of ways to bring in what you love into the look.  Bring in tufting or a lighter color leather or maybe go with a faux ostrich.

Maybe what you can’t stand is this look:

But you could be into leather with more style, like this Baughman sofa…

Or in the Chesterfield style…

3. Finding common ground

Sometimes to find common ground it helps to talk bigger picture.  Spend a bit of time on House Beautiful scrolling through living room photos together as a couple.  Have your hubby grunt at the ones he finds acceptable and you can squeal with delight over the shots that you love.  Compare the two pictures and see if there is any common ground.  There may be a similar color or furniture type that reoccur in both photos.  Also, have your husband point out things that he likes in your inspirational shot and do the same for his.

My Pick:

Graham’s Pick:

We both like light, natural colors, classic pieces, wood frames and no overstuffed upholstery.

Our latest common ground piece:

An antique spring from an old truck.

Make a list of the common themes, items or colors and keep an eye out for those styles.

4. Shhhh…a little trick.

From my years of babysitting and teaching, I’ve learned a thing or two from kids.  Wearing someone down works.  Try mentioning something that you love seven to ten times a day, every day, until your husband gets so sick of hearing about it that he runs out and buys it for you.  But don’t tell anyone I told you that!

I’m still diligently begging for this fabric for our headboard…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Quadrille Darling Seaside Cottage Renovation Inspiration

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Regan  |  April 12, 2011 at 7:53 AM

    LOVE the cross stitched antler pilllow! And, keep trying for the headboard…the fabric is beautiful!

    Reply
  • 2. Caitlin  |  April 12, 2011 at 9:21 AM

    I love this post…this is the story of my life! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. consciouscloset  |  April 12, 2011 at 9:52 AM

    Thank you for this post, Kate! I’m going to have to try out your tips, especially the layering thing. You’re a genius!

    Reply
  • 4. Brittany  |  April 12, 2011 at 10:08 AM

    Love the tips. 🙂 The other tried and true favorite I’ve been hearing about is to redecorate while the hub is out of town on a week long ski vacation with his buddies…. it works!

    Reply
  • 5. Jenn  |  April 12, 2011 at 10:47 AM

    Great advice! I love your fabric choice for your headboard. Keep working on your hubby, I’m sure he will come around.

    Reply
  • 6. Glynnis  |  April 12, 2011 at 11:12 AM

    Great ideas Kate – for decorating and marriage!

    Reply
  • 7. bridget  |  April 12, 2011 at 1:14 PM

    hmmm… apparently i have a man’s taste in decor. that is what i learned from this post. feel free to mention this to joe, and of course to point out how lucky this makes him :).

    Reply
    • 8. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 12, 2011 at 2:12 PM

      Oh no, I picked all very tasteful things in terms of the man decor. I love man’s taste in decor. Although, if you man wants a lay-z-boy, I have no clue how to cute it up – great fabric? I love leather sofas. I love dark colors, leathers and wood but I wanted to show a contrast.

      Reply
  • 9. Beatrice  |  April 13, 2011 at 10:50 AM

    Your advice was on target and lots of fun to read.
    Years ago I did some major re-decorating while my darling husband was in the hospital. When he came home he was still too ill to notice much and by the time he did he thought that the living room had always looked that way!
    A tip for decorating. I take pictures of my rooms then study them to see what looks out of place or cluttered. It’s interesting how when you are in a room you don’t see things but when you take a picture some things just jump out. I took a picture of our kitchen last night and wondered why in the world I had yellow hand towels.

    Reply
    • 10. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 13, 2011 at 12:05 PM

      I love your story of your husband!

      What a fantastic tip about taking pictures! I never thought about that. I’ll def. be giving it a try.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors\' designed gift...

Join 363 other subscribers