Nursery Reveal

July 14, 2016 at 5:02 AM 3 comments

As I mentioned on Monday, I’ve got nursery photos for you for one of the most fun clients I’ve ever had the pleasure of working with.

It all began with an e-mail from my friend, Katie, who I also went to college with.  Katie and I were sorority sisters and among other things, we share a love for fashion.  We went to a small liberal arts college in a rural Washington town; out of sea of hiking performance gear, Katie and I were little misfits in head to toe J. Crew ensembles.  Katie and her twin sister, Regan, share a passion for fashion and have the most tempting fashion blog that I know of: Cardigans and Couture.  It’s a must read.

Anyway, back to the e-mail.  Katie asked if I would help with her nursery.  She wanted, gingham, floral and a map dress.  I couldn’t respond “Yes, please” fast enough.

Katie also partnered with The Container Store who worked their organizational magic for all the itty bitty girl clothes.

3e46175abb97d5705ab75f8a6963aaa4735a4f2e_bl_july16_elfa_nurseryideas_babyclosetorganizer6

Without further ado – the reveal…

38bb17d6f1586d3166d4b76e3eba53e389db25a8_bl_july16_nurseryideas_14

Here you see where the gingham and map dress come to play.  Katie wanted a navy and white gingham and I was completely on board.  I love that we paired it with a green paper dress.  Katie chose this particular dress because she has a love for good penmanship.

To the left of the crib, is this gorgeous bone inlay dresser with a matching diaper changing pad from Restoration Hardware.  I don’t have a good shot of it closed but here you can see it with all of it’s amazing organizational pieces.

4d3d37713407922f3e0c466214f84e6cad5ae4d8_bl_july16_nurseryideas_13

And now for the floral mix into the room.  Love, love, love how these drapes came out…

c709fc96eddeec7af54f3079405a68b40d5a8d4c_bl_july16_oskarboxes_nurseryideas_10060720

We went for custom drapes and chose a waverly fabric – “Candid Moment Gardenia.”  I love the bold colors but also the sophisticated feel to the fabric so it can grow with the sweet little baby.  I pulled the pink from a flower in the fabric in the glider from Ballard Designs.

IMG_7704

I wanted to add a touch of masculinity to counter balance the drapes and glider so I went with the Les Touches pillow in brown, which also picked up the brown in the branches of the drape fabric.  There is also hints of yellow in the fabric and so the geometric rug by Dash and Albert has a yellow undertone that tied in with that.

Next to the glider is the cutest side table in the world.  And it’s Target, people.  Everyone pretty much needs it in their lives.  The little blue table lamp is also from Target and a fun tie in to a blue hummingbird in the fabric.

ff065ec0ad896c626b4d124247013af41c8a31f1_bl_july16_orangemultibambootray_nurseryideas_10068345

Also these container store bins could not be more perfect with the drapes!

df0ec5069d9f71954b28ac4d32b42e309685cefa_bl_july16_oskarboxes_nurseryideas_10060720_3

And perhaps most important of all, pink hunter boots for the future fashionista…

3680dfbc19c92382ee3776b9d6fcbad4299e03c7_bl_july16_elfa_nurseryideas_babyclosetorganizer7

This was such a pleasure to work on!  Katie’s baby arrives next week.  Eeeek!!

Head on over to Katie’s blog where she has links to all the pieces in the room.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Life Updates Worth the Wait

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pierceandpost  |  July 14, 2016 at 8:45 AM

    Too cute! You are becoming the nursery master 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. blue hydrangea  |  July 14, 2016 at 9:21 AM

    Love, love, love!! I really love the bold blue check with the girly touches!!

    Reply
  • 3. Mary Karen  |  July 15, 2016 at 9:46 AM

    Your creativity and warm/zippy commentary continue to delight me, Kate! And Target…seriously?! I love that store, but would not have thought about it for furniture. Thanks for sharing yet another delightful design. That giraffe peeking out of the box still has me grinning!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 362 other followers


