One Room Challenge: Outdoor Spruce Up

April 7, 2016 at 5:40 AM 11 comments

It’s that time of year again.  One Room Challenge Time (to be read in Oprah voice).  I’m diving in with both feet and I have yet to know if I’ll sink or swim.  The big question is, will my workrooms pull through and deliver what I need to be done on time?  Six weeks of taking a space from blah to (hopefully) wow is a tight deadline.  But, you already knew that.

For those of you who are new to my site, welcome!  Here are pics of my last three One Room Challenges so you can be familiar with my work.

Project 1: Poolhouse Redo

p1242089129-4

Project 2 – Country Bedroom

img_9572 (1)

Project 3 – My Girls’ Closet

22719939750_25998a26b2_k

What will I be working on this time?  Our outdoor space.

Here comes the before shots…

img_7382 (1)

You see that uninspiring, round table and chairs that’s sticking out in the photo?  Yeah, well that set came with the house when we bought it.  When we were doing our final walkthrough to get our keys, we came along this lovely set of patio furniture and the previous owner matter of factly stated to us, “I’m going to leave this here.  You can keep it or you can have your movers get rid of it.”  And that was that.

The patio furniture we unintentionally inherited, has sat there for far too long and that little space is getting a makeover with this basic plan

backyard plan 2

Also, this little bar-b-que area

cc2b28ca-28fc-4bb6-8bf2-dc644f2e8432

is getting this new tile and this hanging lantern

This table will be getting all done up with a fresh tablescape for the reveal photos.

IMG_1812

These chairs will be getting cushions made.

IMG_1813

I’m excited for the changes coming and I hope that it all comes together in time. The one thing that can’t be changed, that I wish could be, is the hardscape.  We’ll be remodeling in a number of years and tearing up the hardscape at that point.  So, for now, I’ll just work with what we’ve got.

I hope you’ll follow along with me for the next six weeks.  Your support truly means the world to me.

Please check out the other participants in the One Room Challenge, here.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Big Girl Bed One Room Challenge – Handyman Graham Style

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. deborah moore manning  |  April 7, 2016 at 6:05 AM

    Bring on the One Room challenge! Your backyard space has ‘great bones’ as you already know; so the changes you outlined will be Fabulous! Fortunate you are (says Yoda) to have a gorgeous home to work with; can’t wait to follow the Beauty!

    Reply
  • 2. celine @aquahaus  |  April 7, 2016 at 7:11 AM

    Kate!! First of all, congrats on the new baby!! I’m so so so happy for you. Secondly, yay! I love the plans for your outdoor space. Especially can’t wait to see the bar. This will be fun!

    Reply
  • 3. laurie at laurie jones home  |  April 7, 2016 at 8:42 AM

    Love a good outdoor space! I love your plans and can’t wait to see the final results! Good luck!

    Reply
  • 4. Kirsten  |  April 7, 2016 at 9:04 AM

    Can’t wait! Always love what you do

    Reply
  • 5. Michaela @ The Lodge on Haydon  |  April 7, 2016 at 10:49 AM

    Very cool space to start with! That bar area is fabulous, and your tile choice is BEAUTIFUL! Can’t wait to see what you do with it!

    Reply
  • 6. Fran  |  April 7, 2016 at 12:21 PM

    Love this Kate!! Your designs always inspire me. I give you kudos for doing this challenge again and doing it pregnant too!! You’re my hero! 😉 xoxo

    Reply
  • 7. Ellie Good  |  April 7, 2016 at 12:58 PM

    Great plan! I’m excited to follow along with your progress!

    Reply
  • 8. Rita  |  April 7, 2016 at 2:20 PM

    You always make ‘challenge’ sound easy, I love to watch you at work and will be looking forward to seeing the progress.

    Reply
  • 9. Ashley  |  April 7, 2016 at 6:11 PM

    This will undoubtedly be incredible! I really love the striped umbrella–that will be so fun and perfect to coordinate with all of your outdoor tablescapes. Can’t wait to see more!

    Reply
  • 10. brandy  |  April 7, 2016 at 8:27 PM

    I’m certain this is about to be perfection. The tiled bar is going to be amazing. Looking forward to following along.

    Reply
  • 11. mollie's mom  |  April 9, 2016 at 4:09 PM

    first, how did I miss your pool house ORC?? It’s fantastic! I’m excited to see your outdoor space refresh. What a great area. I am all about outdoor spaces to share with family and friends!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


