Dining Room Update

March 17, 2016 at 5:35 AM 2 comments

One room where I have subscribed to the theory of slooow decorating is the dining room.  You guys were there with me when I got my beloved Oly Studio dining room chairs and when we ripped up the ugly carpet…post here.

photo-1-26

Now for the next latest and greatest, we have our official dining room lighting.  I had my Stray Dog Designs chandelier up as a place holder but it was never meant to stay in that room.  I love the light but it’s more whimsical then I’d like my dining room to read.

img_7923

I just needed to find the perfect piece which can take TIME.

Luckily for me, while searching One Kings Lane vintage section for lighting for a client, I stumbled upon the light for me.  I can assure you my job is very dangerous like that.  It’s very easy to do the, ‘one for you and one for me,’ when out shopping for clients.

I digress.  I present to you my very own antique copper lantern…

IMG_1235

IMG_1435

I love it!  It actually looks better in person; my horrible photography skills in no way do it justice.

By absolutely no means is the dining room finished.  But I’m one step closer.  The next step is to put up drapes and to take down the shutters.  That will bring a layer of softness and possibly color to the room.  Now to find a fabric within my budget and to my liking.  I’m very much considering white Ikea drapes with this tape on the leading edge until I find the one again…

Genesis-2in-Birch

I’ll update you as the changes arrive.  At this pace it will be in about six months or so.  How is that for a hard sell to keep you reading?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Suellen Gregory Design Easter Tablescape

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. deborah moore manning  |  March 17, 2016 at 7:57 AM

    Kate, Never a NEED to keep me reading. . . Love the new Lantern, so aged adding an antique”y” layer to the room. The Ikea drapery idea sounds perfect; I can’t get enough white into my designing; ever. And yes, a great expensive patterned fabric would be sublime, but until then; White Almost Always Works.
    xd

    Reply
  • 2. Fran  |  March 17, 2016 at 6:56 PM

    Love it Kate! What a beautiful statement – that lantern is gorgeous! I have to say I loved your stray dog chandelier with your mixed chairs (aka your ‘before’ DR), so I can’t even imagine how the ‘after’ is going to look! And, if it’s any consolation, I’ve been looking for the ‘one’ in terms of dining tables forever!! So, frustrating. You’ll probably be done your DR before I’m done mine! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 357 other followers


