The Significant Cow

January 8, 2016 at 5:45 AM 6 comments

IMG_9975

I don’t write every time we hang something up in our home because…well…snoozefest.  But, this little something that I hung has great significance to me.  It’s a cowhead given from my ever chic Aunt to my Dad ions ago.  They had a game of continuously gifting each other cow items.  They’d each try to one up each other.  I found this faux taxidermy in my parent’s garage after my dad passed and I took it home to give it pride of place.  To me, it reminds me of the fun my dad had, and even if they were ridiculous gifts, he was always incredibly generous.

The cow found a little nook in our first tiny SF apartment…

181134_orig

In our second San Francisco apartment it fit perfectly in our kitchen nook.  When we moved to our home, I carefully unwrapped the cowhead from its box and placed it temporarily in the coat closet until I found the right spot for it.  A year and a half has passed by and with each rainstorm, I open up the coat closet and see my dad’s cow looking up at me, all Velveteen Rabbity, sad and ignored.  This past weekend, I found a spot for the beast.  Now, I get to look at the cow and think of my dad, “the cowboy.”

IMG_9957

I hung him up above our coat rack as you enter in the back door.  It’s the perfect spot!  Gracie is thrilled with the new animal in our life.  Every time she walks by it she either exclaims “Hi cow” many, many times in a row or she’ll give it a simple, nonchalant, teenage-esque, “hey cow.”  But she has yet to walk by the cow without saying hello.  To me, it’s Grace and my dad saying hi.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Family Dinner January Tablescape Fail

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. deborah moore manning  |  January 8, 2016 at 5:57 AM

    Love the cow, the Story, and especially Grace’s connection w/ her Grandpa! And the boxwood wreath just puts it’over the moon’ for me.

    Reply
  • 2. blue hydrangea  |  January 8, 2016 at 7:34 AM

    Love the cow and the back story!! Touches like your cow make a house a home and a great looking home by the way!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Mary Karen  |  January 8, 2016 at 10:57 AM

    Holy Cow! What a sweet posting, Kate…simultaneously brings tears to my eyes and warms my heart!

    Reply
  • 4. Glynnis Hayward  |  January 8, 2016 at 11:42 AM

    What a great spot for it Kate. I’m sure your Dad is as happy as Grace about it.

    Reply
  • 5. Bridget  |  January 8, 2016 at 11:56 AM

    At first glance I thought this was the ranch! Only proves that is the perfect spot for the cow. Love Gracie’s hellos to your dad.

    Reply
  • 6. Almost Home  |  January 8, 2016 at 9:49 PM

    I love that! What a neat tradition and a sweet memory for you!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 358 other followers


