Project Clean 2016

January 5, 2016 at 5:03 AM 6 comments

New year brings on the reset button – after the wonderful exhale of reflecting on the year’s past comes a deep new inhale. Time to begin again and get rid of the old.

And when I say ‘getting rid of the old’, I am being very literal.

56534b9ddab4e222ce416e0bfca91ca4

This year’s one goal is project clean.  Getting rid of all the excess crap in my life.  Laundry is constantly going – partially because we have way too many clothes.  The garage is packed full with my one day decor purchases.  And there are little “piles” of unwanted, I’ll look at it one day, mail all throughout the house.  And the toys, don’t get me started with the toys….piles and piles, stacks and stacks of broken, unused, plastic toys.  Crap, I tell you people.

b5a0aebe387cfbafd12e4af4aaa95724

Cynthia Brooks Design

I read “The Life Changing Magic of Cleaning Up” but I haven’t exactly executed.  2016 means execution.  Just that which brings us joy.  And Graham is getting in on this two.

I’m pairing down as much as a maximalist decorator can.

e71ffd758875243d285ab78e1667a9ee

Jeffrey Bilhuber

How to execute?

Devote time to cleaning daily.

When I catch myself mindlessly scrolling through Instagram, get up and clean instead.

Get girls to help me.

Get husband to help me.

Find a place for everything.

Go through our stuff category by category and dump out the unwanted stuff and donate, donate, donate.

3ee1c4325acbca6fafab4301d0f72c53

Here’s to hoping that my messy ways can perhaps be amended.  I’m honestly doubtful but I’m going to give this my best shot.

Thank you for your lovely feedback and comments on my 2015 post.  My blogging goal is to blog as an outlet when the desire to write takes ahold of me or a project I’m excited about comes to fruition.  I’ve also set a goal to do a tablescape a month and share them here.  I’ve got my January one in the works so stay tuned…

IMG_9639

I did the tablescape above a few weeks ago when we had Graham’s sister’s family over for a belated Christmas celebration.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Looking Back at 2015 Pergola Lighting

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nancy  |  January 5, 2016 at 11:10 AM

    I’m with you. every Lent we do a 40 bags in 40 days clean out. is it wrong that I cant wait for Lent to start? I’ve got the urge now…so my plan is to do it twice. 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Glynnis Hayward  |  January 5, 2016 at 1:14 PM

    Good luck!

    Reply
  • 3. Anne {Almost Home}  |  January 6, 2016 at 11:20 AM

    Oh I can’t wait to see your tablescaping posts! I’m happy you posted that last shot on your blog–I had taken a screen shot of my phone when you posted it on IG because I wanted a way to save it. Now I can just pin it 🙂 ps. good luck with the purging/cleaning…I feel like it’s never-ending…

    Reply
  • 4. Lindsey  |  January 6, 2016 at 5:43 PM

    We did a big New Year clean out. Toys Toys Toys. And a question – where did you get your gold utensil place settings?
    ❤ them!

    Reply
  • 5. Ann williams  |  January 6, 2016 at 10:13 PM

    How do the toys pile up so fast??? I’m in the purge mode too. I collect toys and gifts for the girls and put them in a bin in a closet so that in the future they can visit the ‘store’ on a rainy day or for good behavior and pick something out that feels new. And I get to hide a bunch of crap away, win/win 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. karin  |  January 11, 2016 at 1:17 AM

    curious with your runners – where are you getting the fabric? remnants? are you sewing them/hemming them?
    you always have material that looks intriguing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 359 other followers


