Looking Back at 2015

December 30, 2015 at 5:11 AM 8 comments

The frequency of my blogging has significantly waned as I hem and haw over the future of Kate Collins Interiors.  But, I don’t want to let a year pass without sending out one of my favorite posts.  I learned from my dad, a lifelong journaler, that the great mark of a new year is an apropos time to look both backwards and forwards.  Because this is a blog and not  a leather bound journal, I thought I’d include some of my most liked Instagram pics over the past year.

IMG_8364

Today I will look back and tomorrow onwards.

IMG_1073

This year has given me the gift of simplicity.  No moves, no new babies, no pregnancies.  It has been a year of routines and roots.  We know every inch of our neighborhood block; we know the fastest route to the fresh pressed smoothie store; we know the timing of mail arrival and the sound of construction as neighbors remodel.   We know how to repair the antique doorknob when it inevitably falls off; we know what stair squeaks the loudest as we’re tiptoeing up; and we know how to run from dining room around to the kitchen in a repetitive loop.

IMG_6106

Coming off of years of moves, transitions, deaths and births, this year of normalcy did not go unnoticed.  I awoke truly grateful that my day consisted of feeding toddlers, wrangling them to the grocery store, a stop at the park, more feeding and then peaceful naps (while I work), waking up to a library visit then home for dinner and a bath, bed, cleaning and then restful, deep, uncomplicated sleep for myself.

IMG_1248

I’ve done the best sleeping of my life in 2015.  As a lifelong insomniac this is an absolutely wondrous, amazing thing.  And it’s the permanent simplicty and relatively stress free days that have brought on the zzzz’s.

IMG_1672

Sure, it’s not all buttercups and rainbows.  Every day there are tantrums, sibling squabbles, compromises and moments of deep boredom. There are days strung together where I want to pull my hair out and I’m convinced I’ll absolutely lose it. But relative to years past that’s stress free baby and I’m thankful for it.

IMG_9497

January 1, 2015, I set out with the one goal to make friends in our then new community.  Guess what?!  I did it!!  I have this amazing play group with the most wonderful women and friends that I could possibly ask for.  We meet up every week; we’re there for each other; supportive and completely non-judgemental.  We can finish each other’s sentences because we’re all going through the exact same thing.  And we have an amazing ability to carry on a conversation, all while 7 toddlers, ages 2 and under are running around us.  These girls keep my insanity intact and my sense of humor strong.  They are my complaint dumping haven and my special moments sharing spot.  I’m so glad I forced myself to make those awkward first moves all those months ago.

IMG_8331

I can’t finish up a year looking back without including the man who made those awkward first moves on me 10 years ago.  Graham and I have further solidified as a team as we battle out the tantrums, squabbles and begging sessions.  Yet, consistently at the end of the night, we’re scrolling through that day’s photos of the girls in absolute thankfulness that those two sweethearts are ours.  Both of us are acutely aware that the years are short, no matter how long the days feel.

IMG_8746

Those three are my complete heart and I’m thankful for another grand year with them.

IMG_6370

Wishing each one of you readers, whom I absolutely treasure, a wonderfully simple 2016.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Raining Babies Project Clean 2016

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. deborah moore manning  |  December 30, 2015 at 5:25 AM

    Bravo, Kate! Your words and photos tell the whole story; a woman grateful for a full and beautiful Life. xd

    Reply
  • 2. Graham Belchers  |  December 30, 2015 at 7:34 AM

    Great post! Loved every second of 2015 with you and can’t wait to start a new year together again.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply
  • 3. Annie Kelly  |  December 30, 2015 at 9:43 AM

    Kate – it’s Annie Kelly! I have been following you and your amazing design work, beautiful photos of your kiddos….they are ADORABLE! You are so great at what you do and I love that you tell a story each time. Happy New Year to you all!

    Reply
  • 4. Glynnis Hayward  |  December 30, 2015 at 11:22 AM

    What a beautiful post Kate. I love your gratitude for the things that matter most in life. That makes for happiness.

    Reply
  • 5. Mary Karen  |  December 30, 2015 at 11:43 AM

    Thank you for the sweet look back at your creative & heartfelt life AND the reminders about gratitude, Kate. I do hope you continue on with your design business and blog, as it brings such joy to so many. Meanwhile, sending you my very best wishes for joy, abundance, good health & lots of love to you and your family.

    Reply
  • 6. Rita  |  December 30, 2015 at 2:40 PM

    Thank you Kate, you always seem to have that special touch to put things into perspective. I’m looking forward to the New Year of blogs, love to you, Graham and those adorable girls. Terry and I wish you all the very best New Year.

    Reply
  • 7. karin  |  January 4, 2016 at 12:39 AM

    love seeing your posts and design thoughts, you are such a gifted writer! ..please keep going in 2016! Make it your sanity/mommy moment.

    Reply
  • 8. Lindsey  |  January 4, 2016 at 1:25 PM

    bless you!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 360 other followers


