The Meandering Walk

December 1, 2015 at 5:28 AM 6 comments

Yesterday, we walked our neighborhood, a loop that the girls and I have done a hundred times before.  If you live on my block, hearing my girls chirping voices cascade down from the street to your living room is more reliable than the post man.  It’s a daily activity.

The chilly weather and light rain was calling out to my inner crab like self to crawl inside my shell and remain indoors.  However, my girls were at each other with the punching and screaming; the pushing and taunting; the pleading and whining.  Enough was enough.  Nothing could solve this problem but nature itself.

IMG_8781

Josie gave it her very best to not leave the house.  I wrestled the flailing legs and flipping feet until little Miss was donning a pair of sparkly turquoise tennis shoes.  I coaxed an extra layer onto both the protesting girls for warmth.  And finally, exasperated, I reached for a two simple brown paper lunch bags as an idea switched on in my head.

Groaning out the door, the girls reluctantly marched.

I handed Josie a brown paper bag and said “this is all yours”.  Then I handed another one to Gracie.  “We are going on a leaf hunt.”

The tears and whines abruptly switched to the sound of silence.  A silence brought on solely by the strongest of curiosity that could reboot such foul moods.  As I explained the activity, their eyes opened as wide as a full harvest moon.  “A leaf hunt?”  “Yes, Josie.  You can look around the streets and find any interesting leaves or acorns or sticks and put them in your special bag”

IMG_8785Within moments there was a spring in her step.  What big sis does, 9 times out of 10, Gracie will follow.  They were inspecting crimson crackled leaves; they were rubbing smooth chestnut acorns; they were peering at small darkened puddles.  Our suburbia neighborhood in the heart of fast paced silicon valley had transformed to an idyllic, unhurried, country walk.

Without realizing it, I got caught up in the experiential spirit as well.  I watched a leaf slowly fall from a tree and I actually meant it when I said, “wow, girls, this is beautiful”  And yet, we weren’t deep in the woods; or lakeside; or on a mountains ridge line.  We were at my neighbors driveway, next to a truck delivering a port-o-potty to a construction site.

IMG_8788

Funny how the simplicity of a brown paper bag can change one’s perspective. I’m thankful for that moment living life through the magic of my children’s eyes.  May it continue.

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Ribbon Touch Creating Traditions

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. blue hydrangea  |  December 1, 2015 at 5:41 AM

    Your girls are adorable!! And I used to do the same thing with my children when they were a little younger! We called it a treasure hunt and it kept them happy for about 30 mins for which I was extremely grateful!!

    Reply
  • 2. Graham Belchers  |  December 1, 2015 at 7:27 AM

    Loved this

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply
  • 3. imwallejoe@gmail.com  |  December 1, 2015 at 10:21 AM

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Melita powys  |  December 1, 2015 at 2:52 PM

    Gorgeous idea, I’m going to try this with miss 3 today. Thanks for always making me smile, I love your style.

    Reply
  • 5. Dana Saign  |  December 2, 2015 at 4:33 PM

    You are the freakin cutest!

    Reply
  • 6. Glynnis Hayward  |  December 3, 2015 at 12:40 PM

    What a lovely idea and such a good lesson for Josie and Grace. Good job Mom!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


