Six Week Challenge: Week 5

November 5, 2015 at 5:27 AM 10 comments

Wow!  Thank you everyone for the awesome feedback on my girl’s closet so far.  I really loved it and to be honest, I kind of needed it.  If you’ve been following my six week challenge since week one, then you’ll know that I was initially going to have my tried and true wallpaper hanger who I use with all my clients hang the paper.  A family emergency came up for him and so I went with a handyman I pretty much just found off the internet.

IMG_6912

Internet handyman, wasn’t the best wallpaper installer that I’ve ever had.  But he did the job and all is lined up.  However, when he was finished, he looked at me and whispered (as if it was behind my back), “I don’t like this.  I don’t like the color pink paint you chose and I don’t like the paper.”  And then he proceeded to advise me to hire him to paint the ceiling blue with clouds on it.  Thanks Internet Handyman, could you sponge paint my walls too?!

For whatever reason, he rattled my confidence and all of you boosted it back up!  Thank you!!

Since then, my girls and I have been playing in what we now call “the clubhouse” and we all love it to bits and pieces.

The closet bar went pink.  There was some great feedback on how to get more economical lucite bars but I later heard they can’t take as much weight and so it felt easier to paint.  And I’m thrilled.

IMG_7644

Also, I did some DI-WHYYYYY?.  Okay, maybe not Do It Yourself more like do it with your mom and your friend and have them do most of it but offer lots of cheer along the way.

This Sister Parish fabric is no longer a stack of lovely fabric but actual hanging curtains.

IMG_3071

Stay tuned for the reveal next week.

Also, you may have seen this on my Instagram but these ubiquitous Anthropologie hooks were meant for the Best In Show paper.  The cutest totes ever are going on the hooks for dress up clothes.

IMG_7906

This wonderful ram went blaaaack (to be read like a ram) because my tutu wearing toddlers are so edgy.

a1440bab8778401ca7779b7cef4f3d50

All is wrapping up and I can’t wait to reveal it next week!!

Please go check out the other participants, here.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

One Room Challenge: Wallpaper Is Up! One Room Challenge: Reveal Day

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. whalingcitycottage  |  November 5, 2015 at 10:02 AM

    Bah! Listen, internet handyman, don’t make me tell you you don’t know anything. It’s fabulous, Kate!

    Reply
  • 2. Fran  |  November 5, 2015 at 12:22 PM

    Oh, that is hilarious!! It’s looking great Kate and the ‘sista’ fabric as curtains are going to rock! I think I’m throwing in my DIY-ing after this challenge. I like your approach better – recruit family and friends and then be the cheerleader! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Holly - hcb interiors  |  November 5, 2015 at 1:00 PM

    Oh goodness, what nerve he had! You have nothing to fear, it’s looking fabulous!

    Reply
  • 4. Lindsey  |  November 5, 2015 at 4:45 PM

    loving it!!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Madeline  |  November 5, 2015 at 5:45 PM

    Everything in this room is so perfect together. I didn’t know I could love someone else’s closet so much.

    Reply
  • 6. Allie  |  November 5, 2015 at 7:00 PM

    Internet Handyman clearly has no sense of style! That closet is every girls childhood (or adulthood) fantasy, love it!

    Reply
  • 7. Hollie Cooper  |  November 5, 2015 at 7:56 PM

    Is it wrong that a 40 year old can be jelly of a toddlers closet – Yes, yes it is! Cant wait to see your final reveal!

    Reply
  • 8. adrienne  |  November 6, 2015 at 9:43 AM

    I still love it. The handyman’s comment should have gone out the window with the cloud ceiling suggestion. Yuck. And the ubiquitous Anthro hook is perfect for that paper. (PS this is one of my favorite projects in this round – can’t wait to see the last week!)

    Reply
  • 9. Ashley  |  November 6, 2015 at 11:12 AM

    Dear Internet Handman,

    Everyone’s a critic, but more of us are fans of Kate’s choices! Love!!!

    Reply
  • 10. Kristin Smith  |  November 11, 2015 at 3:53 PM

    Yeah – I don’t think I hire that handyman again! This closet is adorable!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


