The Hunt

September 2, 2015 at 5:02 AM 4 comments

After I hit publish on my last post, a wave of inspiration took over me.  I reached deep into the dark, cobwebby depths of my closet to the tiny crevice of non-wrinkled, non-stained clothes; I went beyond a shower to the land of personal care involving make up and blow dry.  Then, I fled from a teething toddler and another independent toddler, leaving them behind with their “vacationing” daddy.  I sped on up to the land of ikats, silks, cottons and brocade: the san francisco design center.  A spot where people watching is almost as good as the textiles themselves.  An oasis from the t-shirt wearing techies, where we discuss the ancient art of textiles, jotting down patterns with a pleasingly archaic pencil.

A woman on a mission, knowing the family left behind had an expiration time and that I would miss them dearly, I hit up my favorite spots: schumacher, quadrille, lewis and sharon and madeline weinrib.

And now I present to you: a decorator confused.  The land of options:

My ode to Josie’s outfit with Peter Dunham’s Starstruck as the main fabric, pillows in coral piped in a rope like piping.

Starstruck+Green

IMG_4574

My blue, cream and brown moment with Quadrille New Batik as the big cushion fabric and then ikat and stiped as pillows.

il_570xN.762059596_skyr

IMG_4572

My blue, cream and poppy moment with Madeline Weinrib as the big cushion fabric and then striped and poppy welt as accent.

outdoor-fabric-madeline-weinrib-blue-white-gardenista-Collins

IMG_4569 (1)

I took all the scheme photos outside so we could see how things read outside in the bright daylight sun.  I believe we have actually decided on a fabric.  I’ll let you know as soon as it’s ordered.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Marriage Predictions The Meandering Good-Bye

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. deborah moore manning  |  September 2, 2015 at 7:03 AM

    You found it! Hunt Successful!! The combo and Choices are worth it. . . so worth it.

    Reply
  • 2. Nat  |  September 2, 2015 at 11:10 AM

    The ode to Josie’s outfit is my favorite- The starstruck fabric deserves heart eyes emoji it’s so good!

    Reply
  • 3. Anne {Almost Home}  |  September 3, 2015 at 2:01 PM

    These are gorgeous! and your writing is so fun, please don’t stop! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Fran  |  September 4, 2015 at 5:27 AM

    Love all the combos! The starstruck fabric with the rope welting and touch of coral is my favorite!! Has whimsy and a bit of nautical thrown in!! Love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 358 other followers


