Tablescape Deconstructed

August 17, 2015 at 5:00 AM 6 comments

We hosted a small dinner party for my father in law’s 70th birthday.  I wanted to make it special for him so I planned out some details that I felt captured some of his interests.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Here is the finished table…

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Today, I thought it would be fun to break down the tablescape for you.  For Brian, I thought of his favorite colors and I knew that he loves the color blue.  So I went with a classic blue and white scheme.

I found these gorgeous vases at my mom’s house and had them filled by a great flower shop (Fiori in Burlingame) with hydrangeas, dahlias and queen anne’s lace.

IMG_3708

From there, I added on a second layer of blue and white with a tablecloth that I got years ago at an antique fair.

IMG_3714

I got that tablecloth at the same time as this one that I used for Graham’s birthday dinner…

img_5983

From there, I added on our everyday plates, which luckily are blue and white.  They are from Williams Sonoma and still an absolute favorite plate.

IMG_3720

From there I added on napkins.  I wanted a little color variation so I chose napkins with a red stripe because what goes better with blue and white than red?  The napkins are actually from the dish towel section at Ikea; they are like $0.89 for two so it’s a great resource for larger parties.  I wanted to keep the table more manly so I wound the napkins with rope to act as napkin rings.  I simply took rope and wound it around each napkin ten times and then tied it off.  The rope is also a little call out to a dude ranch that we’ll be going to for Brian’s 70th.

IMG_3730

 You could leave the table as is for a fun night with friends just add wine glasses.

IMG_3737

IMG_3739

But, for the party, next up came the personal details.  Each seating had a terra cotta pot filled with kitty grass.  I got the pots at JoAnne’s Fabrics.  I attempted to grow wheat grass and successfully drowned and killed the seeds.  So in the 11th hour, I went to Whole Foods and bought already grown Kitty Grass and potted them.  I then wrote the guest’s name on each pot for the table seating.

IMG_3749

Then in each grass I stuck a golf ball on a tee with a picture of Brian after he had shot a hole in one on the ball. Next to each pot, I placed a framed photo of the guest and Brian.

IMG_3869

Everybody got to take home a picture of themselves with Brian and Brian got to walk around the table and go down memory lane with the important people in his life.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

We didn’t actually sit down to eat until the kids were tucked in bed so I added on a final layer of candles which really added a fun element.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Most importantly, the birthday boy had a great time and he enjoyed the table.  It was a very fun night.  We think it’s our best dinner party yet.  Here’s to the many more we’ll throw in our home that we love so dearly.

IMG_3881

And happy happy birthday to Brian!  I’m blessed to have married into such a great family.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Hats for All From Burnham Design to Amber Interiors

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. deborah moore manning  |  August 17, 2015 at 6:37 AM

    Lucky Brian!!!! Every detail echoed your love and respect for Graham and his Dad and his whole Family. . . . Beautiful from start to Finish. Gracie Girl ‘s photo bomb: my fav!!! xd

    Reply
  • 2. Glynnis Hayward  |  August 17, 2015 at 12:09 PM

    It was the start of an amazing weekend and you outdid yourself, Kate. Brian was overwhelmed…. Thank you so much for all your love and caring. We are blessed to have you in the family.

    Reply
  • 3. Anne {Almost Home}  |  August 17, 2015 at 2:08 PM

    Love it, Kate! Whenever I go to set up a table and up my tablescaping game, I will definitely be thinking of you and attempting to channel your skills 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Lindsey  |  August 17, 2015 at 2:27 PM

    I am WORN OUT just browsing the past two blog entries. Cheers to you mama. You made it through another 1 year of a baby all the while, creating some amazingly creative tablescapes! xoxoxox

    Reply
  • 5. Rita  |  August 17, 2015 at 3:18 PM

    Kate you are simply amazing! Your sensitivity shines through so beautifully, love to all

    Reply
  • 6. Jacquelin  |  August 25, 2015 at 7:06 PM

    WOW. That is amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


