Kitchen Booth – Decision Time

May 15, 2015 at 5:03 AM 4 comments

I have been hemming and hawing over what fabric to pick for our kitchen booth.  I’ve been wanting this booth since the day we bought the house, you’d think the second I got the green light, I’d have everything all ready to be executed.

ec81c43d6e75dad2983e4b541057c271

Alas, I’m wishy washy on what color scheme to go for – I’ve gone from seafoam, to camel to pattern and back around again and again with moments of yellow, navy and red mixed in there.  People!  I even said to Graham “maybe we should just give up and not do a booth after all” and I was only being half dramatic.

4f965522a42994eb27d8b506aef26a31

My sister in law pushed me to go color.  She is right!  I love a good color boost. Plus, the kitchen nook is the spot where I listen to children cry in unison, where I watch them pour milk all over the floor and where I call their father in desperation only to hear he hasn’t left the office yet.  I realized that staring at my favorite fabric while sh&t goes down could really help me out. Kind of like wine but slightly healthier…although, a tad less effective.

7a205f1afc2048b722898c3063b7a2ad

You all know for the six years that I’ve been writing this blog, Christopher Far Cloth Carnival is my favorite fabric.  It was very satisfying when I used it for my mom’s poolhouse…

pool house shot

BUT, it would be even more satisfying if I used it for my own home.

I’m going to get it laminated and that will be the back of the booth and then I think I’ll do a green or a blue vinyl for the seat.  So so excited!!

Don’t hold on to your seats though because the big reveal isn’t coming any time soon.  It’s looking like a three month wait time for the fabrication of the booth (and in this business you always add on a month).

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Artist Spotlight: Michelle Morin Red Hot

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. blue hydrangea  |  May 15, 2015 at 11:14 AM

    LOVE that fabric!!! Can’t wait to see the booth when it’s finished!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Glynnis Hayward  |  May 15, 2015 at 11:50 AM

    What a great idea. I love the colours and it will be so cheerful.

    Reply
  • 3. Lindsey  |  May 15, 2015 at 2:05 PM

    bravo!!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Fran  |  May 16, 2015 at 11:48 AM

    Oh, this is going to be good! I love this fabric and can totally see it with some tone on tone horizontal stripes on the wall! It makes me feel normal that you’ve considered every possible option and then even considered not doing the booth! Ha! But, I’m glad you made the decision – must feel good to move forward!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


