Kitchen Nook Progress

April 17, 2015 at 5:04 AM 3 comments

Okay guys let’s chat kitchen nook, shall we?  For those of you who are loyal readers (thank you, Debbie) you know that I have big dreams for our breakfast nook.

Currently this is the little alcove that sits off of our kitchen.

IMG_8557

It’s highly functional with a small West Elm desk, a child’s kitchen, two high chairs and two antique chairs.  Isn’t it clean too?  My God people, it’s hopeless in there currently.  But, I’ve got some big plans. Originally, I wanted a booth along the back wall and on the left hand wall that juts out so I would have an L shaped built in booth.

ea62b9f3fa4dda0e300e2a5a785ffb7c

I had my guys over from B&L Seating who have helped me out in numerous design projects to see what they thought.  They felt that the left hand wall was too short for it to be very functional and didn’t think the booth should curve.  So now, we’re thinking about doing one long built in bench/booth along the back wall and then nothing on the side wall.  I’ll then do a smaller table and people can access the booth from either side.

bdd2c91eec67b17da71137fd8769f4ea

 

c9f3ff891821f7b985985b86755e5628

 

ef7c8fa03e3e3028dfb88a681ef0823c

Next decision comes in with the booth fabric.  In my dreams I’d do nice fluffy down pillows in a comfy linen fabric and make it like one giant inviting couch to come sit in while I slave away in the kitchen.  Kidding!  WHile I drink wine and microwave.

Something Amanda Peetish…

20f46f9787f12ee4bb758a4ab0ea909b

In reality, I have children that would smear red sauce into the fabric faster than you can say “dammit Josie stop that”  Trust me, I’ve tried.  She is fast.  So vinyl it is.

I’m considering cognac

7e5ff406d79602746554dc35773c8ad2

 

I’m considering seafoam

6dac74084e381ea8786322470023c10d

I’m tiny weeny bit considering patterned oilcloth – is that crazy?

5956b84f6c2179e944af69378bc02f04

I’ve just always loved this Amy Butler oilcloth pattern (shown below) but I don’t think I’d go through with it.

 

8401ac90c02bc207c62b3da03d41a53c

We’re getting places people.  I just thought I should let you know where my heads at, like a nut.  Thoughts?

Happy Friday!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

One Room Challenge: Week Three – Gone Country One Room Challenge – Week Four

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindsey  |  April 17, 2015 at 3:51 PM

    I was thinking the same thing when you pin the ONE long bench instead of the L shape!! I love a neutral naugahyde in like a buttery taupe. My mom had two wingbacks done in it for her den/kitchen area, and she ended up putting them in the living room! Can’t wait to see the progress!

    Reply
  • 2. deborah moore manning  |  April 17, 2015 at 4:23 PM

    Kate, I am not a big Banquette fan, but if you decide to go that route, I adore the Amy Butler print(s); so fresh and light and Happy. When I first saw the space I immediately wanted to tear out the window and make it bigger to fit the wall (or put in French doors) depending on whats on the outside there!! I envision a Sarinen table(round or oblong) w/ versatile chairs that can be painted when little ones (the Angels) get them messy. I’d do a great hanging light; modern and rather oversized pendant. And then perhaps great fabric for Roman shades over the shutters, or remove shutters all together. . . keep me abreast of the progress, such fun!

    Reply
  • 3. Megan  |  April 20, 2015 at 11:23 AM

    i vote for the patterned oilcloth!!! looks fun and interesting!!!! love this project. i love a little breakfast nook. xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 358 other followers


