One Room Challenge: Week Three – Gone Country

April 16, 2015 at 5:12 AM 2 comments

Another week has gone by and it’s time to check in on One Room Challenge: Project Country.

I’ve got the great start to a joke…What do you get when you have a mother, daughter and two baby grandkids to set up an Ikea bed?  Unfortunately, for us, the answer is – insanity – and it wasn’t very funny.

My mom and I built the ikea bed while Josie (my two year old) napped and Gracie (my seven month old) refused to nap.  Attempting to build a bed on a hardwood floor without making a peep was not easy. We were dropping huge boards and unintentionally making all kinds of noise but miraculously Josie slept through the clamor.  Grace was way too excited to sleep so she hung out with us.  Mom and I built the entire bed up to one last piece fairly quickly (in about an hour) when we realized one of the first boards was on incorrectly and we had to take apart the entire bed and remake it.

This is how close we were when we had to take it all apart.

IMG_4170

Grace found it all very entertaining.

IMG_4172

We eventually got it built and this is where we’re at so far…

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

which is a major improvement considering where we started.

IMG_4162

However, I’ve still got a long ways to go.  What you see in the above photo is only a touch of how the bedding will actually look.  Here’s the direction I’m headed in for the bed linens.

IMG_8411

A huge thank you to my mom for assisting me in making an Ikea bed out of the kindness of her heart.  Now, that’s love people.

Please check out the other participants here.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Feeling Inspired – Anna Burke Interiors Kitchen Nook Progress

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary Karen  |  April 16, 2015 at 10:21 AM

    I’m certain I would have been calling a “handyman” about 10 mins into the project. Well done ladies! And the linens are wonderful…I personally love botanical any/every-things.

    Reply
  • 2. Fran  |  April 17, 2015 at 4:43 AM

    Looking good!! You guys are troopers b/c if that would’ve been me, I would have cried like a baby and probably have given up!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 358 other followers


