No Naps Till Purple

March 26, 2015 at 5:59 AM 6 comments

87b7ed44cacce04c48b826b3a8ccede3

Pheobe Howard

As of now, Josie’s favorite color is purple.  I realize that this can change about as often as her rapidly growing body adds on another couple of inches.  But sometimes I think to myself what if she comes to me requesting a purple room in about five years.  Is this something I should “worry about” now?  God no.  But it does make for good blog material.

I find purple to be a tough color to work with and in a little girl’s room all I can think about is Disney Princess.  Yuck.

Here is purple done right in a girl’s room.

3b36b6bc9514d799cb289e4a753452a6

6c80aefa77b04e703c6cd0caeb013dfa

a226083ac0d32e08fffdc5e5c2b798a2

47888221c33fae2be538a2ebdb186f23

Country Living

Going with sophisticated fabrics and lighter color palette – more lavender than grape seems to do the trick.

If Josie were to come to me tomorrow and say that she would withhold all of her naps until I designed a purple room for her, this is what I would do

Josie's purple room

 

Okay, now I really want this room to come to fruition.  Any takers on putting this exact room into action?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Whimsical Delight One Room Challenge: Country Bedroom

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nat  |  March 26, 2015 at 6:27 AM

    That room is gorgeous! I really wanted a purple room when I was a kid but my mom could not handle it so I got a green one with purple accents haha. I now know why because purple paint can be tough!

    Reply
  • 2. beverly  |  March 26, 2015 at 7:56 AM

    If I could do it all over again and had the insight shown in those beautiful pictures, I would have agreed to let our daughter have her bedroom purple. Although trite – hindsight is truly 20/20 and after all – it’s just paint. Why couldn’t I have seen that 25 years ago? I urge you to let it be HER room and not yours. It’s your home – not a museum as I obviously once thought about ours. Good luck…..

    Reply
  • 3. Fran  |  March 26, 2015 at 9:05 AM

    I love purple and green together! And, I love your inspiration for Josie’s room! I actually suggested a purple and green color scheme for my friend’s daughter’s room. Christy Ford’s daughters room was my inspiration. I posted about it here:

    http://greenstreetblog.blogspot.com/2014/10/little-girls-bedroom-inspiration.html

    Good Luck! Josie is going to be one lucky girl when you’re finished with it!!

    Reply
  • 4. Mary  |  March 26, 2015 at 1:01 PM

    I’d take that room for myself! Minus the giraffe. Gorgeous.

    Reply
  • 5. Erin  |  March 26, 2015 at 4:35 PM

    Fun! Do you have a source for that green bed? Or is it trade only?

    Reply
    • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 2, 2015 at 8:36 AM

      It’s called the Hemingway Bed and you can buy it through Layla Grayce, I believe. I love it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 359 other followers


