Counters that Stand the Test of Time

March 5, 2015 at 5:28 AM 2 comments

The other day, I was in my mom’s kitchen and it hit me that I have never written a post on one of favorite kitchen counter options – stainless steel.

880af072e5edfad501bf7ec96e3a9bde

You see, I grew up with stainless steel counters; those counters have now been with the kitchen for over 40 years now.  While other pieces of the kitchen may need facelifts from time to time, the stainless counters have remained.  They never date, they are very sterile and they’re easy to clean.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

(My mom’s kitchen)

It’s perhaps an unexpected option since you don’t see it as much as marble or quartz in residential kitchens but it is one to consider.  If I were to do stainless, I would use it on the kitchen counters and then either marble or butcher block for the island so that the kitchen doesn’t feel too sterile.  This kitchen shown below does a great job of mixing the counters and pulling off a warm, homey vibe.

4b479d874a40e0880ee539d772f25b18

I tried to find inspiration photos where the kitchens still felt inviting with stainless counters and didn’t go too industrial or commercial.  I think one thing that helps soften the look is to stay away from white cabinets so that it doesn’t go too sterile.

ca1453c2e3b2749f0cad93e78a22ca07

 

I’m curious – would you ever go for the look?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Folkthread Project Procrastination

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary Karen  |  March 5, 2015 at 10:34 AM

    Absolutely! I would have never thought of it until I was in your Mom’s kitchen, and I agree with you about colored cabinetry warming it up. I love the color of her cabinets…and her kitchen!

    Reply
  • 2. Jill  |  March 5, 2015 at 11:43 AM

    I love seeing photos of your Los Altos kitchen! Reminds me of the days when we’d get home just at curfew, sit on that beautiful counter and make ramen. It’s really multi-purpose!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 358 other followers


