Tablescaping

February 23, 2015 at 5:06 AM 2 comments

Tablescaping sounds kind of dirty to me – like, manscaping.  Speaking of man, I attempted to go masculine for my table for Graham’s birthday dinner party.

If you read this post, you know I wanted to go as manly as possible.  However, when it came down to it, we don’t own a bunch of black linens or plaid or beer label embroidered napkins.  I knew one way to my man’s heart is to not go over board buying all new linens.  So I went as manly as I could with what we have and went for the colors blue, green, yellow.

IMG_5973

I thought about Graham’s favorite hobbies and how I could make a table around that.  A. Sports – ugh…how could I make a pretty sports table? B. Flyfishing – all I could imagine was people stabbing themselves with hooks from flies. C. Gardening – now, that I could handle.

IMG_5983

Inspired by a table my mom did about ten years ago where she covered our dining table with grass sod, I got moss planter liner off of Amazon and used it as a table runner.

Thinking of the first tree we were given as a new home gift and the first tree Graham planted in our backyard – a meyer lemon tree – I got lemons and used them for the name cards.  I simply cut a slit down the center and stuck the card stock in there.  The lady at the paper store thought I was crazy which got me to question my idea but it worked.  yippee!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

The beautiful copper moscow mule cups were a birthday gift from Graham’s parents and so I put them to use.

The napkins are actually meant to be kitchen dish towels that I got off of amazon (they felt manly to me).  And to up the man factor, I wrapped the silverware with twine.

IMG_5990

The tablecloth I got years ago from an antique fair.  The seller told me he also sells to John Darian, which I believe like 50%. Let’s just pretend that John Darian and I share the same linens and lets say it in a high falutin voice, shall we?  Also, the awesome horn vase came from Ashley of Meet Me in Philadelphia’s gorgeous ETSY shop and I was honored to have “her” at the table!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
There you have it!  As manly as I can go with what we have.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Also, for those of you who were curious, Kitchit was amazing!  I’d do it again in a heartbeat.  We used Chef Nash of Parc Catering and he was phenomenal.  Local people, hire him!

Finally, to Graham – happy happy birthday!!  You continue to inspire me to squeeze the most out of life daily.  I’m so blessed to share a life with you.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Pink and Red Delight Fiesta

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Glynnis Hayward  |  February 23, 2015 at 5:25 AM

    The table looks lovely. I couldn’t really see it when we were on facetime, so glad to see the close up.

    Reply
  • 2. Fran  |  February 23, 2015 at 6:38 AM

    Love it!! Great job and sounds like it was so fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 360 other followers


