2,190 Days

June 27, 2014 at 5:10 AM 2 comments

Tomorrow marks Graham and my six year anniversary.  The years have flown by.  In reflection, I thought of a sermon that was recently given at a beautiful wedding we attended.  It was about how love is not just about the Saturday nights out, it’s more about the Monday mornings.  Basically, that it’s not all roses and romance – mostly it’s day to day routine that you’re entering into and that it’s important to love and respect your partner on the day to day.

20140510_163625

Graham and I at the wedding last month

So today, I just want to thank my wonderful husband for all that he does on the day to day.

Get a load of this – I have never emptied the diaper genie.  When it gets full, it’s Graham’s job to take it out.  The situation started because of apartment living, it was really hard and gross for me to carry a baby and a bag full of stinky diapers.  Now, I don’t have an excuse except that our marriage is all the more happier with it remaining Graham’s job. Sorry that he got the sh$t end of the stick on that one.  But, I do change way more diapers then he does.

Since I’ve become pregnant again, the vast majority of weekend mornings, Graham gets up and gets Josie out of bed in the mornings.  He brings her to me and then treks downstairs for her milk and then we all get to cuddle in bed.  But he has to do the hard part of getting out of bed while I get to remain warm under the covers.

When I say that I’ve had a bad night sleep in the morning.  Graham responds with, “I’m sorry you slept poorly.”  That’s really all I want to hear.  Nothing more and nothing less.  Just the perfect acknowledgment and sympathy and then we can both move on with our days.

If we are going someplace as a family, Graham always drives the car.  He knows that I hate driving and let’s be honest I’m a terrible driver so he’d rather I not drive.  But, it’s nice and it works for us.

Last night, Graham opened a new can of peanut butter for me because I couldn’t get the top off.  He then proceeded to stir it up for me (as you have to do with the natural peanut butters) just to be nice.

There are plenty of other day to day blessings that Graham gives to me so that even in the most routine of days or months, our marriage is still pretty fantastic.  Overall, it’s been an absolutely wonderful 2,190 days being married to this guy…

IMG_9950

“Carving” a Baskin Robbins Ice Cream Turkey

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Diaper Bag Desires Happy 4th of July

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Glynnis Hayward  |  June 27, 2014 at 10:40 AM

    Wishing you many, many more years of wedded bliss together.

    Reply
  • 2. Jenn Hutcherson  |  June 27, 2014 at 2:04 PM

    Congrats! Happy 6!:) My husband has always taken out the trash, too – and never once had to be asked. That alone makes him a keeper in my eyes, but the fact that he’s an amazing father and loving husband…well, I wouldn’t trade him for the world. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


