Me Of Little Faith

June 23, 2014 at 5:32 AM 8 comments

It all started with a comment from a friend of Graham’s who has seen his way around a wood shop or two and is leading a more flexible, childless, student life at the moment: “why don’t you just build your outdoor table?”  Then he proceeded to tell Graham about Anna White, the impressive Alaskan who builds many things and posts the plans on her site.
Sparks flew in Graham’s brain.  He became the little engine that could.  He was going to build a table from scratch, damnit.
As the supportive, loving wife that I am, I rolled my eyes, pointed out the obstacles and eventually threw in the hatchet with one very skeptical, “yes, dear.”
A few weeks later, we had friends over and Graham told them how he was going to build a table.  Friends sharing my skepticism, asked: “And how are you going to do that?”  Graham’s response: “I bought a saw.”  As if a saw also came with a package full of woodworking skills and experience.
In Graham’s typical ways, our skepticism fueled the fire.  I’m not just going to build a table; it’s going to be perfect, damnit.
Well, five weekends later and we can all shut our trappers.  Handyman Graham has got mad skills.
photo 2 (9)
He built a table perfectly.  It’s absolutely gorgeous and we’ll treasure it for many, many years to come.  I’m one proud wife who is eating humble pie.
photo 4 (4)
Well that and checking out Anna White’s site for his next project…
pottery-barn-weatherbysofa2-450x356
Careful about showing your full talents to those who love you; they may just take advantage of the free labor.  Love ya, handyman Graham.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Block Print Round Up Diaper Bag Desires

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fran  |  June 23, 2014 at 6:29 AM

    Great job – absolutely love it! What type of wood did he use – teak? My husband has woodworking skills too – just converted a hanging closet into a mini mudroom (it took many weekends too! Ha)

    Reply
  • 2. Julie Cassel  |  June 23, 2014 at 10:19 AM

    How much does he charge?

    Reply
  • 3. bridget  |  June 23, 2014 at 10:43 AM

    Gorgeous! Way to go, Graham!! And I am totally checking out this website. I have so many things in my head I am convinced I can build…

    Reply
  • 4. Joe  |  June 23, 2014 at 10:58 AM

    Oofda! Faceda!

    Reply
  • 5. Miles  |  June 23, 2014 at 11:02 AM

    Great job Graham! I’m impressed.

    Reply
  • 6. Glynnis Hayward  |  June 23, 2014 at 12:53 PM

    Oh ye of little faith! Well done Graham and I like the look of the next project. I see new careers in your futures; Kate designs and Graham builds….

    Reply
  • 7. Camille  |  June 23, 2014 at 3:17 PM

    Whoa — good for him! The table is gorgeous. Can’t wait to see the completed bench.

    Reply
  • […] You can read the full post on this table, here. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 362 other followers


