Serving Up Corian

June 11, 2014 at 5:19 AM 5 comments

Our current kitchen is nothing to write home about.  It’s not offensive, just not my taste.  It’s a sea of bisque.  We plan to make additions and completely gut the kitchen in about six to ten years, so stick around for that post.

One thing I have to admit that I have been loving about our current kitchen is the Corian.  This is a function over form thing though.  Trust me, looks wise, I love and yearn for a kitchen slathered in white carrera marble.  However, throw looks out the kitchen window, and I’ve got to give Corian a nice pat on the back.  It’s dur-a-ble.  Spill some red wine?  who cares.  Spaghetti sauce? for the birds.  Corian has got a case of the indestructibles.

So, I figured let me see if I could find some pretty kitchens using Corian – here’s what I found…

ce291a461e178f438a8668d00728942d

 

Via Cococozy

0c7befd671fa035772389efccd7f38f6

Amber Interiors

4563627449ae5e788ddba4d2b8324f82

4a62dd57bb1fa2a82b760f88f248f2c3

4666d05e2fb2d02e8ad36acd7187f415

c357ac5208422ced8b6b209b4062c6fa

wood-cottage-kitchen-1011-netto04-xln

House Beautiful

Not bad, right?  I like it best when paired with natural wood cabinets.  Do you have Corian in your home?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Life Lately Ruthie, Plums and Dad

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Vintique Object  |  June 11, 2014 at 5:05 PM

    Agreed. No reason that something solid white and durable can’t be the neutral in the kitchen. I would definitely use it!

    Reply
  • 2. bridget  |  June 11, 2014 at 10:39 PM

    I have to say I feel like white carrera marble, while beautiful, has been done to death. Plus nothing beats spilling on the kitchen counter and being like “no biggie!!”

    Reply
  • 3. sue  |  June 12, 2014 at 9:45 AM

    Oh my gosh, would you please stop torturing us and show us some “before” photos of your new home (inside only of course)?! I am dying to see what the house looks like before you work your magic. Pretty pretty pretty please!

    Reply
  • 4. regan  |  June 12, 2014 at 8:04 PM

    I wish I had white corrian! Maybe someday…Then I could get rid of the grey that is both my floors and countertops. They are nice, but white would be so much better!

    Reply
  • 5. Emily  |  June 14, 2014 at 10:25 AM

    We chose white corian when we updated our kitchen. At the time I could by no means do my dream kitchen (the cabinets are Ikea with no fancy backsplash), but I was determined to make corian countertops work after my mom has had them in both houses for 20+ years with no issues, complaints or maintenance required. I like using white because personally I want to see when my countertops are dirty. We have granite at work and it gives me the creeps when I wash them and can feel layers of grime through the sponge that had been concealed by the busy granite pattern. In my dream kitchen I would again use white corian, but bring in an interesting material in my backsplash (love your inspiration image with white corian and carrera tiles!).
    And I agree, I’d love to see some interior before shots of your new home. That is so exciting for you guys to have found a wonderful place for your adorable family to grow. Can’t wait to hear of the arrival of your new, sweet baby girl. Good luck in these next few weeks. You’re almost there!
    Take care, Emily

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 358 other followers


