Nursery Art

May 21, 2014 at 5:47 AM 2 comments

I’m actually starting to believe that I will get this nursery pulled together in time.  We’ll call this the 12 week challenge.  Can I get it done while getting completely distracted by other projects around the house?  Dun Dun Dun.

One thing I believe to have checked off the list is art.  I had so much fun with Josie’s art and I love that she has a special keepsake – her map dress.

Guest Post 5

I made a purchase for the new baby’s “keepsake art” and I’m hoping it’ll turn out as cute as I imagine. 🙂  Through the fabulous Parker Kennedy, if you don’t follow them on Instagram, you really should, I purchased these three brass wall mounted bows…

il_570xN.603344717_fszu

 

As of now, my plan is to actually shadowbox them with a ticking stripe matting.  But, I haven’t received them yet so we’ll see how my “plan” goes down.  If it doesn’t work, I think I’ll frame silk hairbows, sort of like this…

f2ac7234cfba30cd72e4d688772e34a3

Here are the other art pieces for the room – a Gray Malin ariel shot of a Chicago beach.

DS3RtmJ

I love having this in the nursery because it’s where Graham and I first lived after we got married and Josie’s “map dress” is of Paris where we honeymooned.  The kids each have a little piece of their parents pre-babies adventures. 🙂

Finally, I have a print from Janet Hill – her pieces have the most fun sense of whimsy and they remind me of my favorite childhood book – Mrs. Rumphius by Barbara Cooney…

il_570xN.527687257_29w0

The nursery art is turning out to be a tad bit nautical, which is fitting with her glider…

2f030cb6769e0ee4d2a2a5ddf2ccdb7d (1)

So now, I have art and a glider.  Bit by bit, we’ll get there.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Wrapped in Paper The Glider: The Good, The Bad and The Not Ugly

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. deborah moore manning  |  May 21, 2014 at 7:38 AM

    Kate, Just an idea, but what about maybe putting one of Josie’s most favourite hair bows in the framing/shadow box and then add one of New Baby Sister later?? That way they are the “real deal” and will hold so many darling memories of both girls. . . I die for that map dress everytime I see it; I will WILL have one when I have a Grand daughter!!! xd

    Reply
  • 2. The Vintique Object  |  May 21, 2014 at 1:18 PM

    Love those bows!! They will look awesome on the ticking stripe. And the beach photo is beautiful. What do you think of the glider? A good purchase.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 362 other followers


